We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Central Cardiff Hotel”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Central Cardiff Hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Beautiful property with spacious, well appointed rooms. Breakfast is first rate and the staff friendly. I've stayed here on a number of occasions & highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    706
    189
    70
    46
See reviews for
307
829
112
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the Park Plaza on the 7th April for 1 night with my boyfriend for £100 room only.

Having worked with a number of hotels in Cardiff, I always thought Park Plaza to be the best in Cardiff but I was thoroughly disappointed and thought it was nothing but average.
We put the car in the NCP and the hotel does give 20% discount. Check in took a little while as we arrived at 14.30pm and there was only 1 receptionist present which I thought was poor considering it was coming to peak check in time. By the time we did check in, the receptionist was polite helpful.
The foyer was clean and had a very modern look/feel to it. We stayed on the 3rd floor but the signs are quite confusing for the room numbers and we did go around in circles abit to find our room...
When we arrived at our room, I was disappointed when I opened the room. It just didn't have the 'wow factor'. The room was a decent size but nothing really stood out. The TV was of a basic standard with basic channels and no radio channels - something I like to dance too before I go out!
I started to move stuff around in the mini bar as the section for my stuff was tiny but beware, the items in the mini bar are on a censor so you will get automatically charged if you move things around and don't even take them out of the bar. I think this is poorly signed as it only says so in the book, there should be a clear sign either on the front of the mini bar or inside it - a sly way to make money. I spoke with reception though when I realised and it was sorted.
The bathroom is ok but it took around 20 minutes to fill the bath - not acceptable. Pathetic water power. Shower was good but basic toiletteries - would of expected Molten Brown. No bath robe or slippers either - something I though would of been standard. Towels were heavy but were not fluffy and were not white - actually 1 was really grey.
Good space for clothes but I can't really say anything else as nothing really stood out - it was quite a forgetable experience.
The saving grace for the hotel is the location which is superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmileyBlondieGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Park Plaza Cardiff and
I am genuinely sorry if you experienced any shortcomings during your visit.

Firstly, may I apologise for the wait you had on check in, we do our utmost to make the check-in process as quick and smooth as possible and I would like to assure you that we do staff accordingly for peak times. On an infinitely more positive note may I thank you for your kind comments about the receptionist who checked you in.

With regards to the facilities in the room we do have a selection radio channels available on all our TVs which are free of charge and can be selected from the menu. Bathrobes and slippers are provided as standard in all our Executive rooms and Suites and are available to all guests complimentary upon request, subject to availability.

I have passed your concerns regarding the time it took to fill the bath onto our maintenance team who will check to make sure everything is in good working order and I will be revising the mini-bar signage in the rooms to make sure the notice is clear about the charges and how the sensors work. We would never charge a guest for mini-bar items which were charged accidentally.

On a more positive note, I am glad to hear that you were impressed by our Lobby area and that the location was convenient for you during your visit. Once again, may I thank you for your feedback and if you choose to stay with us in the future, I hope we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The interior of the hotel is stylish and modern and we thought the room was excellent, both spacious and clean. We only stayed for one night, and as others said it does get busy in the nearby bars but the noise level in the room is minimal. The view of the car park opposite isn't the greatest but I would expect most people to stay here for the location itself with the nightlife, theatre and museum all within a few minutes walk. We had room service which was dealt with speedily. Breakfast is excellent - a fabulous selection with seating well organised. We'd happily stay here again.

One minor quibble, someone needs to seriously look at the Welsh translation of the breakfast menu. My partner, who is first language Welsh, was both amused and horrified by the errors, and even took some photos to show his Welsh speaking friends and family. As a classy hotel in the centre of the Welsh capital this is just a small thing that really should get put right.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the civic centre - far more attractive to look at than the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stylish City Centre Hotel, which although looked unimpressive from the outside was very modern and contemporary inside. Parking always an issue with City Centre Hotels but Park Plaza offers a 20% discount on the Greyfriars NCP Car park opposite (for 24hrs it cost us £14.40).

Location was spot on ... literally 5 mins walk to Queens Parade shopping centre and all the other shopping arcades.

We ate at a cracking Cuban restaurant next door to Browns in the evening ... great atmosphere and good quality food & service ..... again 400 yards from the hotel.

Would definitely use the hotel again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed for one night over the Easter weekend in a superior room. Great location, 10 - 15 minute easy walk up the High Street from Cardiff Central or a 4 pound cab ride. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from Cardiff Castle and the shopping centre. There is also a bus out front that can take you to Cardiff Bay. Reception staff were speedy, helpful and friendly. We were able to check in 2 hours early. Room was impeccably clean - everything felt brand new! And was unexpectedly large, especially considering the great rate we paid. The rooms/hotel honestly looks exactly like the professional photos on the website (which we find is often not the case!) A few clubs/bars accross the road but could not hear any noise at all from them. The reception area was beautiful with wood fires and lounges where you can sit and chat or read. Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the bar or breakfast but likewise these spaces also looked beautiful. Only downside to the stay was that our room had an interconnecting door with the next room and we were able to clearly hear the "romance" that was going on next door. There was also bit of noise from the hallway in the morning. Otherwise, an absolutely wonderful stay - would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request on non-interconnecting room unless you need one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
1.0 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 17,238
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing