We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
67
10
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
10
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We enjoyed a very welcome break while visiting family near Cardiff. We were made to feel very welcome with lots of personal touches. Amazing breakfast cooked to order.
Convenient for Cardiff as frequent trains run from Taffs Well. Will return next time we visit.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teazertux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch here last week. Chicken curry and chicken tikka skewer with veg curry both stunning lovely and hot. We sat by the fire which made it cosy. Service was great. A lovely place to eat. Will be back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Purseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Best pub grub in Cardiff, by some distance.
Excellent menu choice with interesting specials board.
Constantly good standard of food, and they are always prepared to cater for individual needs.The service is efficient and friendly.
One excellent feature is that the food is always hot, and this is due to having hot plates.How often do you get that in restaurants today?
Prices are varied, giving you the choice of having a light meal or having the works!!
Yes parking can be a problem but we have always managed for our very numerous visits.
Great variety of real ales,some brewed on the premises.
Babs is always helpful and ensures that you are satisfied with your food, nothing is too much trouble.
Cannot rate this well run establishment highly enough.
Make an effort to book and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

I've been several times and it had always been passable for food. This reliability is a good thing.

If it was just a little better food wise this place would be excellent.

Generally its pretty friendly not silver service but OK.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank f_jones_MON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This was our annual bike dinner and 1st time at the Gwaelod y Garth Inn. It's situated in a pretty village at the bottom of the Garth . Parking is the only down side with a small car park at the rear and then road side parking where you can. Our party was 34 people and we were seated in the main restaurant . Warm and cozy feel to the pub and restaurant with friendly helpful staff and a great choice of ales. We had decided to stay the night in one of the 3 rooms located in the main building . The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, tastefully decorated with lots of complimentary toiletries , even fresh milk in the fridge! The dinner was exceptionally good, probably the best I've had in a restaurant, great service, everything was hot and bountiful. Pudding was a choice from a large selection on the slate board and everyone said that their pudding was amazing ! Breakfast was something else, fresh fruit on our table, choice of cereal, yoghurt; toast with preserves , numerous refills of tea, and the 'full Welsh ' was delicious. Babs and her staff certainly go the extra mile to make your visit memorable and enjoyable. My recommendation would be to stay over , well worth it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RootytootCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews