We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Inn with good food”

Gwaelod y Garth Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gwaelod y Garth Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent two nights here in a separate building up the lane from the Inn. Our accommodation had two bedrooms and a full kitchen with coffee, tea and milk and a bathroom with shower. The towels were the largest and most absorbent ever! We found the rooms to be rather cold, partly because we were jet-lagged and also because we had just left the USA where the temperatures were in the 90s. (There was frost in the valley that night despite being there in July.) Babs was very accommodating and put the heating on for us.

Breakfast was delicious with very generous portions. There was a selection of cereals, yogurt and fruit followed by a cooked breakfast of bacon, eggs, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes together with tea, coffee and toast. The staff members were all very friendly and welcoming.

Ten of us ate dinner there on the first night and again the food and service were very good and also very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms up the hill have good views but would be difficult to reach for handicapped guests. Wifi avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Llama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

My wife managed to find this beautiful inn tucked at a quiet corner at the outskirts of Cardiff.

I found the roads leading to the inn narrow and confusing, especially driving a French rental Peugeot with lousy GPS.

We were the only Asians there and I think my wife found it awkward that everyone at the pub stared at her when she went in to check in.

I parked at the back of the inn, which was a heavy sloping tar road. Boy, did I have trouble parking there!

We were warmly greeted and escorted to our room, where we could see the nearby railway line and the pub downstairs. The endearing housekeeper, Maggie, was ever so pleasant, friendly and helpful, and she made a difference such that we really enjoyed our stay.

The room was clean, traditional and well maintained, with warm water and a comfy bed.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank samuelsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We booked two nights at the Gwaelod y Garth Inn and ended up with a five night stay! The rooms are quaint, comfortable and clean, but our favorite feature was the friendliness expressed to us by owners, Rich and Barbara - and their wonderful staff. They all made an effort to pull up a chair and visit with us each day and cater to our every need. Their food is delicious and presented in a beautiful manner - honestly our best meals in the UK. People come to eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere from miles around. We are fans from Utah and will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Great Beer , Great Food and a great atmosphere always with bright well appointed dog friendly rooms . Rich and Babs are excellent hosts. Violet Cottage Brewery which is onsite and run by Rich to complement a full bar of real ales always . Good views . Have returned many times and found everything always consistently very good .

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Has to be one of the very very best places in South Wales for Sunday lunch. An extensive first class menu with your traditional choice of roasts plus numerous fish dishes and a specials board. The goats cheese and black pudding starter is to die for and a choice of sixteen desserts is quite frankly superb. Please don't book though as I have to give two weeks notice to reserve usually!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gregari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.3 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
669 reviews
8.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
8.2 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,562 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
3.7 km away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwaelod y Garth Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwaelod y Garth Inn

Address: Main Road | Gwaelod-y-Garth, Cardiff CF15 9HH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwaelod y Garth Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gwaelod y Garth Inn Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing