We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location Good Value”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The location is definitely the best thing this hotel has to offer. Right in the heart of the City Center of Cardiff, it is less then a 5 minute walk to the mall, cinema and there are several excellent restaurants right there, a great Thai place right next door, and the Gwdihw cafe which has good music nights. The room was average but good for the price. It was clean, the staff was very friendly and service here was good and prompt. We saved money by booking online, it was more expensive to book over the phone. The lobby was nice with a full bar and they offer breakfast until later in the day then most places do so that's nice if you're a late riser. A decent and affordable place to stay and sight see in lovely Cardiff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments; we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    509
    236
    78
    60
See reviews for
134
457
127
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stay in a lot of Ibis hotels they are cheap and cheerful and you know what to expect. Finding somewhere to park at this one involved driving round and round the hotel for 15 minutes and negotiating Cardiffs one-way system and roadworks. Finally found somewhere close but...

The room had a noisy pipe that sounded like a cistern filling up all night. This wok me up at 1am / 4am and I finally just got up at 6am having had a terrible night sleep.

I wouldnt stay here again - not worth the risk or a bad nights sleep and stress of parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion. We advise the guests to come to the hotel first, to check in and drop the luggages, and then we explain how to get to the closest and cheapest car park, at £5 for 24 hours.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Ok hotel that was relatively inexpensive, clean & efficient but nothing special. Extra charges for internet & breakfast. Upon arriving, the room smelled like cigarettes and there was a plasic bag over the smoke alarm. There was also a noticable stain on the wall. They immediately offered to put me in another room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your comments; I am sorry that the first room your were given was not up to standards. I hope you will chose us again for your next visit to Cardiff.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband&myself booked to stay in the ibis hotel as it is near the motorpoint arena.The hotel is basic but clean but you get what you pay for.We paid £60 for 1 nights bed&breakfast as the location for the arena is very convenient.The only drawback for this hotel is the beds are rock hard&we hardly slept all night ,we might aswell have slept on the floor.

Room Tip: Read the sleep ratings of the hotel before you book or if none available complain to hotel managemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim10bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.
We have passed your comments to the relevant department.
We hope you will chose our hotel again for your next stay in Cardiff.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here for business and found the location perfect, with the main shopping district 100yds away. The standard of the rooms were very satisfactory for this kind of hotel. I was especially impressed with the friendly staff who made the stay particularly pleasant. The Spanish receptionist, I think she was called Vanessa, was especially helpful by kindly printing important work related documents for me and had a strong command of the English language .

I'd definitely use this hotel again and happily recommend this to associates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marineboy_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Regards,

Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,563 - ₹ 10,947
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing