We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Weekend in Cardiff”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here in a family room - with my Husband and 2 girls, room & bathroom were spotless. With Children's beds already made up - which I didn't expect - as I thought they were just having a sofa bed. Only 2 towels had been left for 4 people, so I requested more, this wasn't a problem.
We ate in the ajoined Brewers Fayre - this turned out to be a terrible experince, I had Carvery - which served "frozen" roast potaotes & Veg. The menu said they offered beef, gammon, turkey and vegetable pie. But they only had a very small amount of turkey and gammon - of which I had the last of the gammon, my meal was cold, and I could not finish it. My Husband and one of my daughters ordered rare steak - this arrived not cooked as requested - over done - and was also served with luke warm chips and peas. My younger Daughter ordered from the children's menu - and was happy with her sausage and mash (smash) although she had ordered corn on the cob - as she dislikes peas - but ended up with peas on her plate along with the corn. Three desserts were ordered, hot crumble served with cold custard - not accetable. At no point did anyone ask if our meal was ok. But after being served the desserts, we quietly called the waiter over, who dealt with the problem by calling the Mangeress.
She was very apologetic, and agreed it was not up to their usual standard and promptly offered a total refund and another free round of drinks and replacement desserts if requested. Which we declined. We made no fuss - but spoke quietly & politely, I feel although the meal was terrible - the way the situtation was handled was good.
We had a good comfy night in the Premier Inn, but was woken firstly at midnight by a member of staff pushing a meal deal refund letter under our door! and then secondly, at about 8am, by the smoke/fire alarm going off, and having to vacate our room ( with children in tow in pj's) which we later found out was due to someone using hair spray underneath the smoke alarm in their room!
Breakfast, which incidently was given to us free, as an apology for the evening before, was lovely and hot and plentiful. Only gripe here, was the forest fruits were still frozen!
Coffee/tea & juices were also plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms were good, but Brewers Fayre was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyDidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    307
    106
    29
    16
See reviews for
303
254
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My Partner & I stopped at this Premier Inn over the Easter bank holiday. It is located 15-20 minutes walk from Cardiff City Centre. We stayed for 3 nights & saw a few Stag & Hen Do's check in, as well as Families so was a little concerned it might be a bit lively but we didnt have a single problem. The Rooms are very large, with Plasma/LCD TV's on the wall. Bath/Shower & Kettle with daily tea & coffee top ups. The bed was lovely and soft, perfect when you've spent the day walking around Cardiff! Breakfast is spot on! The currently value is £8.25 per person i believe, so if you can get it included i would! It's an all you can eat breakfast (Premier Breakfast) Sausages, Egg (Fried, Scambled, Omelletes, Boiled) Bacon, Beans, Mushrooms, Hash Browns, Tomatos, Toast, Crumpets, Cereal, Muffins, Porridge, Youghurt...Everything you can think of! And my Husband was over the moon when he heard he could go back as many times as he liked!....Parking is free outside the Hotel, it's a reasonable sized car park so don't worry about not being able to park (It's also free) We had no problems finding the hotel, But i did use google earth before we left so i could see where abouts it was, its in a industrial estate but don't worry it is sign posted. All in all i would recommend this hotel 10/10!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The guys on reception were genuinely friendly and gave us a warm welcome on arrival.
The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless but everything smelt damp due to an insufficient extractor fan.
This was proved after we had showered and the room looked like the Top Of The Pops studio with an over active dry ice machine.
Other than that minor criticism, the hotel did the job it was meant too, cheaply yet efficiently. Would, and have, recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuffywufflesnozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed here for Business for 4 nights a week for 4 weeks. I have stayed at 5 other Premier Inn's and many other hotels some 5 star. However this hotel was one of the best! after reading the reviews on here I was a bit worried that I might have issues but didn't have any! Rooms newly refubished to a high standard, work taking place at the time but was warned at time of booking ( I don't understand how other people didn't notice this warning when they booked). had a new huge T.V. mounted on the wall. very nice staff (David on reception- Dan and Sophie at the Bar) the others were welcoming and friendly too, the rooms were very clean, free parking for guests, Quiet Pub next door. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cezhu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel and room was spotless. Every comfort was provided. The only problkem was location by Satnav!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilocseel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.0 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.1 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.5 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,128 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Address: Keen Road | East Moors Industrial Estate, Cardiff CF24 5JT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,394 - ₹ 9,121
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out at the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City South. Half way between Cardiff Bay and the city centre, with free on-site parking, you'll be well placed to make the most of every minute in the capital. Travel through time and space at the Doctor Who Experience. Lose yourself in the hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. Catch every second of the action at the Millennium Stadium, SWALEC Stadium and Cardiff City Stadium. Then, whether you've been battling daleks or hunting bargains, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: M4(J33) onto A4232, follow signs for city centre. A4234 take sign for Splott, at roundabout take 3rd exit. At 2nd roundabout (magic roundabout) 2nd exit then the 1st right, then 1st right again. Next to Ocean Park Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 1 mile Cardiff Airport 17 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing