We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good city centre base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good city centre base”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel is only about a year old, it is clean and smart with very helpful staff. It is within walking distance of the principal shopping area and very close to the railway station. Consequently some rooms get noise from trains clattering across a nearby bridge. Some upper floor rooms have good views across the city and out to Cardiff Bay. I stayed with a group for four nights. My room had a double and single bed and appeared similar ro most others. The bathroom contained a bath as well as a shower. The handbasin is too small, and I could not believe this, there is no socket for an electric razor. The two lifts are efficient but might struggle to cope at peak times when the hotel is full. Rooms and corridors are thickly carpeted which helps reduce noise. The buffet-style breakfast provided an adequate range of hot and cold food which was fresh and topped up regularly. Our group evening meal was served quickly and efficiently and was better than many other hotel group meals that I have experienced, but still nothing special. The bar has a wide range of lagers but no good (real ale) beer on offer. However this is a small irritant and overall it was a good place to stay, made by all those helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise and do not want a view ask for a room that faces the very small intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charnwood-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Charnwood-Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We appreciate all comments and use them to improve the facilities and offerings we provide.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have highlighted your feedback at our management meeting. Unfortunately the layout and build of the hotel did not include sockets in the bathrooms and we are currently looking at ways to resolve this issue. We currently provide adaptor sockets to allow for use of shavers in the bedroom area however we understand this is not an ideal solution for every traveller.

I hope the above issue will not deter you from staying with us again and I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    779
    235
    32
    30
See reviews for
320
675
86
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is new and is in great shape. There is a nice public lobby and a bar and restaurant on the 1st floor. Convenient and good hot breakfast. The hotel is right next to the central train station, easy to walk to restaurants and other entertainment.

A couple of things to note: The staff is happy to call you a taxi, but because of the way the hotel is situated you will have to walk a few meters down the pavement to get to it. This was not a problem for us, but might be something to consider if you have mobility problems.

In my room there wasn't an outlet in the bathroom if you needed electricity in the bathroom you were out of luck.

That being said this was a very comfortable hotel and good value. Nice sized room, clean and comfy bed.

Right on the hop on hop off bus route and close to bus or reasonable taxi ride to Cardiff Bay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Obladee,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I have taken your comments to the management team and we are working on resolutions to the issues you raised. We are currently looking at drop off & pick up areas for taxis however due to the structural restrictions we are limited with what we can do at this time.

I hope you will consider staying with us in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here overnight in April. excellent location next to the train station and central shopping area. I had dinner in the hotel. The dining room was full (I had prebooked) but the service was excellent, however, the same cannot be said for the food, which was distinctly average.
The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable. I was on the 9th floor overlooking the train station and was woken up several times during the night by freight trains going through the station. for that reason, I would not stay again, (unless I could be guaranteed a room on the othe side of the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear MM26,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. I have passed your feedback onto our management team and we are currently looking at ways to better improve the product we provide. As mentioned we are a city centre hotel with close proximity to the central train station and as a result we do experience, from time to time, some noise from the rail lines. We do however provide ear plugs for light sleepers and quite rooms are available on the other side of the building. We can allocate these rooms once requested, I we would be delighted to arrange this for you myself, my email address is amansfield@maldronhotels.com.

I have taken your comments onboard about our F&B offerings and we have launched a new Stir Restaurant menu. We hope the new menu will cater to all needs and will be an improvement on your recent stay.

I do hope you would consider staying with us again. If I can be of any assistance please contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Hotel is located right beside the central train station and close to all the bars and shops and the Millennium Stadium. Everything is within walking distance. Taxi from the airport will cost about €27 if you don't fancy getting the train or bus.

The hotel itself is modern and new. There was a great welcome from the Welsh staff at the reception desk and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Watching them deal with the numerous tour groups that arrived, the hen and stag groups, business travellers - everyone was given the same warm welcome.

Breakfast is buffet style with porridge, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, sausage, bacon, toast, egg, beans.... pastries.... and is continuously replenished. It definitely sets you up for the day before you head off to a game, touring or shopping!

Bar food was yum - had a cajun baguette (well roll thingy) with fries. Very tasty and loved the presentation of the fries in a mini fryer basket! Didn't eat in the restaurant though but based on the breakfast and bar food I'm sure it serves good food!

The rooms are clean, bathrooms modern... oh yeah - the shower is amazing! While toiletries are provided, the shower gel/shampoo is a combination so don't forget to bring your own if you're fussy!

The only minor negative aspect is that because it is so central to all the pubs etc. at weekends it can be a bit noisy from the street outside if you are not one of the revellers. However, a set of ear-plugs and you will have a great night's sleep on the sooooo comfortable bed! (Don't worry, the hotel itself is quiet!). I was there a Saturday and Sunday night and slept solidly.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear misspelt,

Thank you for your excellent feedback on tripadvisor. As a new hotel we feel that we can lead the Cardiff Market with our focus on customer care and attention.
We are constantly looking for ways to improve our product and work to offer an exceptional breakfast buffet. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We only stayed the one night but had a late check out the following day. We arrived quite early but we were still able to check in. The only downside was that it was it was on a smoking floor, we didn't have to take it but we decided to given we were only there for the night and were just keen to get into the room. The room itself was very modern, clean and had no smoking smell at all. The location was close to everything and they had free WiFi which was very fast and reliable. The front desk staff were great and very friendly. My only two criticisms were that due to it being a smoking floor, outside the room smelt heavily of cigarette smoke and our remote control for the tv wasn't working - we rang to advise and they said they will send someone up but no one came. Other than those two things, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSteel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Bluesteel17,

We appreciate your comments, feedback and the time taken to write your review. We always try to accommodate our guests whenever possible and often offer alternatives if people need to check in outside of the normal hours. We pride ourselves on our flexibility to work with our guests to improve their experience. I am disappointed your remote was not working and when requested a new one was not brought to you. I will speak to both maintenance and the front desk to ensure these issues are rectified going forward.

I hope you will consider staying with us again for any return visit to Cardiff.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,927 reviews
1.5 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,858 - ₹ 15,352
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel, in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing