We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
539
515
255
69
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
515
255
69
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain scott room cinema room central location complimentary bottle of wine deluxe room train station st mary street car park lovely hotel would stay again air con excellent location high street millennium stadium street noise hotel bar cardiff castle
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Good central location was an advantage, still a bit far from the university area where I had to go daily. Noisy in outdoor and corridor areas. feels slightly unsafe during night hours with people hanging around right outside the steps.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aryansooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel is very good. Clean rooms with comfortable beds, friendly staff and a great location in the middle of the city. The bar was fine and friendly too. We never ate there as there are many good cafes and restaurants nearby. Probably the best hotel in Cardiff city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatGingerNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Hotel Cardiff for 2 nights while catching up with friends in Cardiff. Comfortable room and a fantastic selection for the breakfast. Easily the best selection on our tour around the UK. We would recommend Royal Hotel to anyone wanting good value for their money. We had a problem in our room and the friendly staff sorted it straight away with no fuss. Thank you

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Basic hotel with Good shower, decent size rooms, good conditioner, although it wasn’t very hot. Lobby on the second floor. Close to the Cardiff Castle & the train station.
Staff welcoming and very accommodating. Had to ask for soap & shower caps. Though I felt like it should have been supplied in the room to begin with, items were provided promptly on request. Breakfast is mediocre but they actually encourage you to take some to go which I thought was a very nice gesture! Including coffee in to go cup. This was Very much appreciated. All in all, would recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sunny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Moved from what must be one of the worst hotels in Cardiff to the Royal, which must be one of the best. Location, staff, room, cleanliness...everything was great, even the price. Wish I had found this last night and avoided the headache of that other place. Will recommend and hopefully visit again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Barb-in-Redmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews