We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce hotel with two stupid drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“NIce hotel with two stupid drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is new, clean, and fresh looking. Beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is OK. The two drawbacks? The first is that you have to pay for internet, which is annoying. The second is that to turn the power on in the room, you have to place your key card in the slot by the door. What this means is that if you leave your laptop in your room to charge while you are going out for a meal, the battery could well be flat by the time you return. Smarter hotels have the key card slot control the lights, the air conditioning (if any), and even the TV but not the other power outlets. So, if you want to re-charge electronic devices while you are out of the room, stick an old credit card in the slot.

Room Tip: There is a choice of views: the car park, or the water. I suspect that most people would prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear DylanWadol

I'm pleased to read that during your recent stay you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do value all feedback - and I have noted your comments with regards to activating the electricity in your room. It certainly is something for us to consider in the future - however, if you are staying with us again, then our reception team will be more than happy to provide an extra key for you, which can remain in the activation slot during your stay to save any inconvenience.

With regards to the internet, we have changed suppliers within the past year in order to reduce the price of this to our guests - many of whom appreciate this.

I do hope that this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us again in the future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    332
    172
    43
    8
See reviews for
210
282
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked for two nights with the intention of going on a sea fishing trip which, unfortuneatley, was cancelled but as we had booked the hotel thought we would make a weekend of it. The hotel itself was good with a pleasant welcome from the receptionist. The room was basic but with all the amenities one would expect, it was clean and comfortable. The location is what this hotel is excellent for with the city a 20-25 minute walk away and the dock area a bit less. I'm sorry to say the breakfast,although tasty with a good selection of cereal, yoghurts, toast, jams scrambled egg, beans and sausage on the menu (no bacon) etc let it down. The service in the breakfast room was none existent. The beans were in short supply taking nearly 20mins to arrive after the sausage and egg by which time there was nothing left of the afore mentioned items, the coffee machine kept giving up and there was no cutlery or plates. The staff were to be fair run of their feet and were getting in the ear from everyone in there, they were simply over stretched but it was the sane both mornings, you thought they would have learnt their lesson from the previous morning! Also the coffee and tea weren't replaced in our room or the cups either although the bed was made and the towels replaced.

The breakfast aside we found the hotel to be good but staying again.............may check out others in the area first

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear jeffsquire

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.
We do value all feedback and will use this as part of our ongoing training programme within the hotel - so that we can ensure that we are a great hotel, which guests love.
I am sorry that on this occasion, your experience at breakfast has not been the best. I have also noted that tea and coffee was not replenished in your bedroom - something which is usually done on a daily basis.
On a positive note, I'm really pleased to read that you were looked after on checkin at the hotel and that our location was ideal for you.
I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in the cardiff area.
Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break in early March.
We arrived early in the morning (about 9.00) and altough we couldn't check in (and didn't expect to be able too) we were allowed to park our car up and go and explore the City - The receptionist even gave us printed map and highlighted the route to the bay and to the Centre.
When we arrived back in the afternoon, check in was swift and hassle free. The rooms are clean, and the bathroom is a fair size and the beds comfortable - everything you'd want for a short stay. Breakfast was more than adequate, with juices, tea and coffee, cereals, pastries, yogurts and fresh fruit, bread for toasting and 3 or 4 hot items.

The hotel is ideally located, a 10 minute walk to the bay and about 15 minutes to the City centre in the opposite direction.

There is nominal charge for parking, and you need to get an exit code from reception to open the security barrier.

Would stay here if in Cardiff again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook Atlantic Wharf, rooms at the front overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear anjoco69

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Booked for one night whilst spending some leisure time at Cardiff Bay. Check in was easy, very friendly, helpful staff. The room was fine - clean, modern, everything you'd want. I'd read awful reviews about the breakfast, so wasn't expecting much! To my surprise, there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, pastries etc. Also, a small selection of cooked items. I think it was just sausage, eggs and beans. Great value, as breakfast is included in the price of the rooms. The location's not bad, a short walk to cinema, restaurants etc. Would recommend for a city break. Was glad to have the car, as city centre and Cardiff Bay would have been too far to walk with small children.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal may be preferable to rooms overlooking the car park. We saw ducks and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Mamoftwo

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to read that we have managed to exceed your expectations with regards to our free breakfast - something which I agree makes us great value for money.
Your children may be interested to hear that the ducks and swans have some new additions to their families - and we've now had glimpses of cute ducklings and cygnets out on the wharf too!

We look foward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel was a £7 taxi journey from Cardiff central train station, we were promptly checked in with minimum fuss and I found our room to be clean, spacious and had a nice view of Cardiff Bay. The hotel itself is in a good location, not a great location but a good one, it's about a 25-30 minute walk to the centre of Cardiff so I would advise people to get a taxi, this cost us £6. The hotels bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful so no complaints there. However, on going for the breakfast I was quite dissappointed to find that even though there was 30 minutes left on the "breakfast clock" there was very little food selection left, it seemed to be that the majority of food had gone and had not been replaced. Second little 'moan' was that on the Saturday night [we stayed for two nights] there was no draught lager at the hotel bar, which I found quite odd for a Saturday night in a capital city. Two quite minor moans but it left a slightly negative impression, had it not been for this I would have given the hotel a 'very good' mark. All together though, the hotel is good in a good location, the staff were really good throughout so no complaints there.

Room Tip: One looking onto Cardiff Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear LukeyDee

Firstly, thank you for leaving a review of the hotel. I do appreciate all feedback and often use this in order to improve our service moving forward.
I'm sorry that the breakfast buffet did not appear to be replenished while you were here - this is something that should be in place, regardless of how close it is to breakfast finishing - and obviously was not on this particular occasion.
We did experience some ordering issues last week with our draught lager delivery - but can assure you that was a 'one off' occurence and we now have it back in stock.
I'm delighted that you found the team to be really good throughout your stay and do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
1.0 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.5 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,631 - ₹ 14,803
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing