We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

At £66 per night, including breakfast, you get what you pay for and it shouldn't be judged too harshly for that reason. So, as objectively as I am able:
The Good: The helpful staff, the location overlooking the Atlantic dock, the standard of cleanliness, the pub next door & the price
The Bad: Heating left off, those irritating key card slots to get electricity, the short bed quilts coupled to uncomfortable beds
The Ugly: One basic poor breakfast, which was repeated without change every day.
Perfectly good as a base in Cardiff for the big game, a cheap weekend, etc. but not so for a 'special' trip away or business (unless the recession has completely destroyed your budget ). All depends what you want out of it and what you're comparing it to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowgreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Bowgreave

Thank you for taking the time to write an objective review for us. We do appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative and often use this in order to improve the service which we pride ourselves on.
I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    342
    175
    45
    9
See reviews for
215
293
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A clean, well presented hotel in a location half way between the city centre & the Cardiff Bay area. It's about 15 minutes walk to both. The room is typical of this group & the breakfast is served in a light, airy room. We had a pleasant 2 night break & the hotel offered very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumpygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear LumpyGravy

I am pleased that you found us to have a convenient location and that you found us to be value for money during your recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A very clean and friendly hotel, kind and helpful staff, very comfortable beds, bathroom excellent. Breakfast varied, continental and small selection of hot food. Atmosphere in bar very relaxing. Have stayed here several times and always perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we have slept both sides of the hotel and on several floors. Our personal choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Annette B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm delighted that you found your stay perfect and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few times recently whilst visiting Cardiff. Very standard HIExpress, however in a great location and nice views from the room. Check-in was fast and efficient but what let it down were the staff, they didnt seem overly friendly on both check-in and when i later came to use the bar. On the upside, the room was large and clean and check-out was fast and efficient. Breakfast wasn't brilliant as they were running out of a lot of things and it all seemed a little thrown together. Overall it was an average stay however i would return as it was quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Leopard19

I am sorry that on this occasion you have not been met with the levels of customer service which we normally pride ourselves on.
I am delighted that you do consider returning to us again in the future - and if you would like to give me a call on 029 20449000 when you are planning your next trip, I will be more than happy to make the necessary arrangements for you.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Nice position on Atlantic Wharf.

Modern spotlessly clean but soulless hotel.

Food from the bar across the canal was very good.

Great breakfast - including hot food, all included in the price.

Wanted nearly £10 for 24 hours wifi - not acceptable I'm afraid, when other hotels in group (inc H I Express) offer it for free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistairm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Alistairm1

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve our guest experience.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and the cleanliness of the hotel.

With regards to the internet, we have in the past year changed supplier for this to enable us to reduce the cost to our guests. This has proved extremely popular although I appreciate that there is still a cost involved.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.5 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,104 - ₹ 15,227
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing