We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The perfect night before an interview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel One Hundred

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel One Hundred
Ranked #7 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect night before an interview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

After travelling for about 4 hours from the other side of London I arrived at the doorstep of this quaint little place along Newport Road. Due to my own poor time keeping, and possibly nerves for my interview the following day I arrived a little early, but I was kept in the loop the whole time by the brilliant staff, who SMSed me instructions on how to get it, and to settle in with a paper.

After a short wait (about 3 minutes) I was shown my room which, to my delight, was modern, well decorated and spacious. I was also encouraged to use the dining area, use the DVD player and to "feel at home" which I certainly did, I even borrowed their iron which they were very happy to lend me.

I was helped in navigating the area with a map and some suggestions for some decent eateries. I proceeded to march about the town to have a look around and to find food. I did find the local area a little seedy, but not overly intimidating; certainly the hotel was a welcome refuge.

After a hearty meal (and a cheeky pint) I came back to the Hotel where I worked on my presentation for my job interview the following day. I was told there would be some guests arriving later, but even when they did it the noise was unobtrusive. The room became a little cold in the night, but not Baltic, just a little nippy, but still comfortable.

After an excellent night's sleep in a really comfy and clean bed I ran through my presentation again, had nice hot shower, scrubbed up and went for breakfast, which was vegetarian. As a "Full-English" man I was not massively keen to give the muesli and yoghurt a go - but found it quite delightful, nonetheless!!

The staff at the Hotel were excellent, I had a lovely "peptalk" from the land lady before the interview...

I subsequently got the job! And I don't think it would have been quite as successful without the free Wi-Fi, excellent staff, wonderful room and homeliness.

An excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamAndrew86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    62
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
90
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is just out of the centre - but its an easy 15 minute walk in. Or there are plenty of buses. It is on the main road. There is not much parking at the hotel but off road parking can be found in the side street nearby. We were in a ground floor room at the back of the hotel and this was quiet.

Guests can use the lounge and watch the TV. Full suite of Sky programmes are available. There are books and DVD's available too.

The hotel has been renovated to a high standard and is really comfortable. And the food was excellent too.

We would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: Parking is limited. You need to let them know you the time you are arriving so that they can be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The ONE HUNDRED is spotless, impeccably maintained and decorated to the highest of standards.

Abi and Helene go out of their way to make you feel welcome and "at home".

You will find no better breakfast for quality, and the choices for vegetarians, vegans, and the health conscious are well catered for. Along with the complimentary fruit and the chocolate on your pillow in the evening, attention to detail is obviousley this familys mantra.

The location is very convenient and only a short walk to town.

We could not have been more pleased.

All the awards and high ratings in the entry have been earned and well deserved.

Keep up the great work

Robbie Sharon & Louise (Spain)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonandrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for a short break - not the greatest of locations but there is off road parking and the building itself has been renovated very well. Breakfast is served in a lovely room with little terrace. An OK walk into the city but Cardiff more than makes up for it as the city is amazing - something for everyone! Just perfect....Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKUK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Beautiful home in Cardiff, a short bus trip to the town centre, millennium stadium and Cardiff Castle. Helen is very helpful and knowledgable with directions and local history. Breakfast very good, not much onsite parking, but plenty of street parking close by. We parked, then caught a bus all around, a few pound for 24 hour travel, a great deal. Great place for couples, mature age OK, we had ground floor, only a few small steps to the front door.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.4 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 km away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#30 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.2 km away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One Hundred? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Hundred

Property: Hotel One Hundred
Address: 100 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,197 - ₹ 6,631
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Hundred 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel One Hundred is an exquisite 7-bedroom boutique hotel just 5 minutes by foot from the center of Cardiff. Not just any old bed and breakfast accommodation in Cardiff, the interior has been individually designed with bespoke furniture while retaining the beautiful features of the Victorian era.Authenticity and Affordability is our mantra - stay with us and you will see why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel One Hundred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 100
Hotel One Hundred Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing