We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here whilst working away on business. It was my first stay and unfortunately the car park was full so had to park over the road at John Lewis. However, the room was clean, bright and modern, with flat screen TV, air-con, nice big bathroom and power shower.

Nice bar area, and the food, including the breakfast was really nice too.

Overall I was impressed for the price and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewy_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us such honest feedback, it helps us constantly improve our service. We are committed to offering our guests a 4* service on every level. With this I'm disappointed to hear our car park was full during your stay – being such a big Cardiff city centre hotel, our car park is a little tight, but we have to be thank full for what we have – being in prime city centre location.

We are working with the council to set up a drop off point to help guests with arrival and departure. Hopefully this will be in place for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    820
    292
    89
    55
See reviews for
241
908
113
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for one night on 4th August. We were were allocated room 1212 on the 12th floor and i must confess we were impressed by the quality and facilities in the room. Everything was clean and spotless and all the facilities were working as expected, eg air-con, tv, fridge, lightings and bathroom equipment etc, Beds were comfortable to sleep!


The view from the room was good with all shopping area with stores like John lewis across the road. Everything was within walking distance eg Cardiff Railway and Bus Station, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle , St David Shopping Centre and walk to the Cardiff museum and the City Hall is only 12 to 15 minutes. The location of Hotel is very central and one can walk to the Cardiff Bay area within 15 minnites at a slow pace. The Cardiff Bay definately worth visiting.

The Hotel was fully booked because of the Olympic Football semi-final between GB vs South Korea but staff were very professional and hepfull . Furthermore check in and check out process was handled quickly in professional manner. Considering the Hotel was fully booked the breakfast process on the following morning was handled excellantley. The staff at the breakfast restaurant were of high calibre and were most helpfull I have seen or experienecd for a long time. The breakfast it was of high standard as you would expect from a 4* Hotel.

Although the hotel offers other facilities eg spa ,dining and bars...I must confess we did not use these .

Yes,,I was pleased with quality of service and faciliteis offered. It is very good hotel but it's breakfast and the staff working in it's Breakfast restaurant are 5*

Room Tip: Higher floors.....it is much quieter and you get much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
I agree with your point about Cardiff bay, it's a real gem in our city! We have been very busy with of the Olympic football matches, and I am so glad to hear that even with this high level of demand your expectations have been exceeded. There has been a real buzz in the air, which is great!

We look forward to seeing you back soon, perhaps you could pop by our popular spa and Filini restaurant next time and see if dinner can rival our high breakfast standards.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is in prime location for exploring the wonderful city of Cardiff. The only downside to the location is the plethora of drunks outside Customs house just up the road. My hotel room was nothing special and quite small. As you would expect from a hotel of this ilk it was very clean and everything worked perfectly. I have to say though that Premier Inns are far nicer somehow and lots cheaper. I did find it to be a very impersonal place and lacking in character, of course this is probably only to be expected in a hotel of this size but I have stayed in a few Hiltons and Novotels and they just have a bit more oomph really. The bar at night was completely dead which can't be helped I suppose, a glass of wine in the bar cost an arm and a leg. It would have been cheaper to buy a bottle of wine and have it in the room; there would have been the same number of people there as there were in the bar. One. Me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor the views are briliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludlowcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Our Cardiff hotel certainly offers guests a super location to explore the city centre. Cardiff city is wonderful and we are lucky to be part of it. With this we look to offer a friendly Cardiff welcome with a stay that offers you great value for your money.

I really am sorry you feel we didn’t offer the oomph you were expecting. We will take your comments on board for future hotel improvements.

Cardiff is popular for its nightlife, this is one of the many attractions of our great city, and as such sometimes you may experience a few merry goers – I hope this didn’t tarnish your experience of the city as this is not the portrayal we would want to paint.

With this we try to offer a relaxing ambiance in our hotel bar, if however, you are looking for something a little livelier, our hotel staff would be happy to recommend some nearby options.

When it comes to our rooms, comfort is a priority. We have designed the rooms around several themes with large comfy beds and high quality facilities. We are working hard to make some changes internally to improve not only our service, but also the quality of our offering. I do hope you will return in the future so we can show you just how good we really can be.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

As a frequent visitor to cardiff this was my first visit to the Radisson. I have to say the room was great,staff were great, food fantastic! Best hotel restaraunt ive been to. The location was pretty much as close as you can get to the city centre. It's definitely going to be my first choice hence "I'll be back"

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will let Chef know you enjoyed your meal in particular. Filini is very popular and our team is superb – we are very proud of them and the food they deliver.

I’m absolutely delighted to hear we are your first choice and that you will be back – you have made me smile! Please do get in touch before you arrive and be sure to leave us another lovely review to brighten my day! Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed a Sunday night with my partner. The staff we met were all friendly, the room was well presented and clean. We had a great view from the 12th floor and it was excellent value for money. I've stayed in Radisson hotels before and they are consistently excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
A lovely review, thank you. Glad we ticked all the boxes for you and hope we get the chance to do it again soon! We love reviews from repeat guests so thank you so much for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Jens Hallman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,582 - ₹ 17,359
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing