We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Great Location”
Review of NosDa Hostel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NosDa Hostel & Bar
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Great Location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My only real gripe with the place was how loud it was and the paper thin walls. You could hear mumblings of conversations and every door close in the entire place. Also, the bed and pillows were not comfortable at all. But at the end of a long day walking and exploring, they work. Had a private room and I found it to be very spacious, clean, towels provided, television and drawers. Shower and bathroom were very clean. Staff was very nice and welcoming. Great location as you could walk to the central area very easily! Breakfast was basic but the coffee was good. Overall, good experience, just remember to bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    87
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
30
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed in a triple en suite room with 2 friends. The room was spacious, clean and warm with a TV and sofa. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and couldn't do enough to make sure we had all we needed. The continental breakfast was nothing special, but perfectly adequate, and to be honest I think it's the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel that's provided breakfast so it was a bonus! The place has a bar with a nice atmosphere and some quirky artwork on display, but you're also within 10 minutes walk of the city centre bars, clubs and other attractions. We were pleasantly surprised to find they offer free secure car parking which is very unusual for Cardiff city centre accommodation. For the price I really can't fault this place, I've stayed in budget hotels in Cardiff which have been cramped, dingy and lacking in cleanliness, not to mention twice the price! Bear in mind it is a hostel, not a hotel so don't expect luxury, but if you are just looking for a clean and comfortable base for a night or two you can't go wrong here. I will definitely book this place again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muller_lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skomer Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

great staff, bar, beds, clean, sitting area. good location, etc.

Completly let down by the breakfast - continental but not a quoissant or pastry in sight - especially rubbish in comparison to it's nearby competition of Riverside Backpackers (amazing breakfast)

Would I recommend it to someone? Yes - but not after checking to see if Riverside has any beds.

I would stay here again though, but you got to sort of the breakfast (maybe I caught it on a bad day!?)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Skomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I traveled with my college geography class for 1 month through Wales. We stayed in Cardiff, at Nos Da, for for a total of a week. It was our first stop and we returned for our last nights there as well. AMAZING! Comfortable beds, great atmosphere, social scene was remarkable, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. It was by far the best place we stayed in Wales, other than a private villa in Swansea. The price was low, and staff was nothing less than perfect. The bar that is there helps a lot. We didn't have to go far to have a great time... just down a few stairs!

I would not only love to return, but this is also a place I would love to work.

Room Tip: We stayed in an all girls dorm with an ensuite... top floor. Slept 5 total. It was just the right am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hostel is overall good. Good staff. Good Bar. Good Kitchen. Plenty of hot water. Secure. My only gripe is the bathrooms. They are somewhat cramped. The shower cubicles were small with limited hooks for clothing and towel. Empty bottles of toiletries were left abandoned and did not seem to be removed over several days. The bathrooms soon become damp and smelly at peak times - the extraction fans struggle to remove the damp air.
As you will see from other reviews, stag groups use the hostel. Not really a problem when I stayed.
One thing to remember if you are sleeping in a dorm is that they are not single sex. Not a problem unless you assume otherwise - you could get a bit of a shock.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
918 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NosDa Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Property: NosDa Hostel & Bar
Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,483 - ₹ 10,384
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing