We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Wales UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Had two of our customers over from overseas and put them in the Great House. They couldnt stop talking and enthusing about the place. Really excellent service as we checked them in from the manager. Will definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigazag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that your guests enjoyed their stay at the Great House and we look forward to welcoming them again.
Many thanks
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    62
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
63
86
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding reception at the Great House on April 28th 2012. It was the most perfect day made so special by the staff at the Great House who were all attentive and professional. From the first time we met with Manager Mohammad to be shown around the venue, we fell in love with the romantic setting and history the Great House offers. As front of house, Mohammad is very approachable with a great sense of humour and he cannot do enough for you. Throughout the build up to the wedding and on the big day itself, he was a calming influence ensuring proceedings run like clockwork.

On the day as our guests arrived, they were greeted with drinks and canapés served on sparkling silverware. From the canapés, to the wedding breakfast to the evening buffet the food was delicious and service outstanding. Everyone’s tastes and requirements were catered for and our guests were made to feel very much at home. We had 60 guests in the day and over 120 in the evening. With the use of all the rooms and garden marquee there was plenty of space to relax in the lounge and bar or dance the night away in the main room.

We stayed the night at the Great House in one of their junior suites. The room was spacious and immaculate with decoration in keeping with the history of the House. The following morning we were served breakfast with the rest of our wedding party in the main room. Breakfast was superb and a great ending to a perfect day,

We would like to thank all the staff at the great house for their hard work and attention to detail, giving us such a memorable day. All our guests agreed it was a very special venue and one the best weddings they had ever attended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyPanniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, General Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Amy
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. As i said to you on the day, it was one of the nicest weddings we have had at The Great House - we especially enjoyed the inclusion of the shisha pipes!
We are all very much looking forward to seeing you both again.
Best wishes,
Mohammed and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Lovely old manor house, nicely converted. Big rooms with spacious bathrooms. Dinner menu is good and breakfast cooked to order. Will definatly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_Laleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are all very please that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great food and great service in their private dining room made for a memorable anniversary lunch. Spot-on.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment so kindly. We hope to see you again, maybe for afternoon tea?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Outstanding hosts at the Great House! We were in for 5 nights and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.
All the staff was so gracious and helpful. Everyone pitches in! Manager Mohammad was a delight and so helpful at every turn. Room was fun and the food absolutely outstanding! We attended a wedding there also and it was handled beautifully and a good time was had by all.
Can't say enough about it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkLV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us! Should you ever be in the UK again, we would love to have you back.

Many thanks,
Mohammed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
3.0 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.3 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
5.4 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
4.5 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,762 - ₹ 11,270
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing