We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tondu, Bridgend
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went for a quiet out of the way afternoon tea one Saturday. Needing just to get away, and we weren't disappointed with the atmosphere and the overall friendliness. The food and service were great and I hope to try an evening meal there in not to distant future.

One word of warning though, it's not an easy place to find, situated as it is above Coychurch and Coity nr Bridgend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harryplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your review following afternoon tea. I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in our lounge and hope you had the pleasure of sitting by the open fire. Here’s hoping that you visit us soon – I promise the drive to the hotel gets easier every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    74
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
106
98
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed on business and was very well looked after. The food was absolutely first class and the staff so polite. It felt they were really trying to impress. All young people with a great work ethic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscotequeStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your review and positive comments.

Our team pride themselves on their food quality and customer service and it's always a pleasure when this is acknowledged.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Where do i start?????????? I attended the Michael Buble xmas party evening with family and each and everyone one of us had an amazing night. The staff are so attentive and professional, the food was magnificent the whole evening was so memorable for us all. we all loved James AKA Michael Buble!
After having such a ball i decided to join my friends there for New year! New years eve is always a tricky one, i won't look back it was FANTASTIC!! The food was outstanding, great selection of wines with dinner, great entertainment and the service we received was second to none. I have never experienced such a young dedicated, attentive team. You could sense that the team at the hotel really enjoyed working. The NY Eve package was advertised with brunch- WOW do they know how to put on a Brunch, so much more than just a breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel, it's the Claridges of Wales!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onbrandevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we're glad you enjoyed our Michael Buble evening and New Year's Eve.

We're always delighted to receive such positive customer feedback and I'll make sure the staff see your comments.

We hope we see you again throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

If your idea of a country house get away is snuggling in front of a roaring log fire with the newspaper and a pot of tea, or a little vino this is definitely the hotel for you.

We booked into this fabulous hotel for 4 days with some friends over the new year break. This was our second year running and NYE was magnificent, great atmosphere, the food was stunning and totally fitting of its 2 AA Rosetts. I dont know how the chef and his team manage to serve 'a la carte' standard food to a large function, but they did! Well done.

We had a lovely relaxing break and would recommend this hotel for couples or families. With the local beaches, or the great shopping in Cardiff it really is worth a visit and offers something for everyone.

I cant express how friendly the staff are at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. Thank you to all at the Coed-y-Mwstwr for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a wide range of rooms to suit different tastes from traditional to modern. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you very much for your review following your New Year stay.

We delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 2AA Rosette menu and the service you received, Our team pride themselves on their warm, Welsh welcome. I'll make sure they see your comments.

Thanks too for the recommendation, the majority of our guests are regular visitors and ambassadors for the hotel, your word of mouth recommendation is worth a lot to us and much appreciated.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had our wedding here and we couldn't fault them. They helped to make our day so special. They did all the little extra touches, which meant that we could all relax and enjoy the day. The staff worked so hard - which meant that our bridesmaids and attendants didn't have to do the little things like decorate the tables or run the day.
The food is gorgeous, some of the best that we have had anywhere - and it comes in large portions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel goes the extra mile in all aspects. e.g. homemade biscuits with pots of tea and coffee, beautiful rooms, and very comfy furnishings. They have both contemporary and classic rooms.
The hotel is a little more expensive but we feel that the level of everything there makes it worth it. In fact we will be looking for excuses to go back.
Watch out for the hot water - it's scoulding. Hotest I have come across anywhere.

Room Tip: Be warned that some of the rooms have intense colour schemes, i.e. red everything. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally_loves_camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Congratulations and thank you for your lovely review.

It's always a pleasure to receive such lovely comments from our bride & grooms.

We're very pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed your special celebration as we take great pride in hosting weddings at the hotel.

You don't need an excuse to visit again, we're just up the road! so we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
6.1 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.0 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.9 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
7.8 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
21.9 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 75 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Property: Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,768 - ₹ 18,642
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing