We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pentwyn Cottage

The cottage is a sympathetically restored barn, preserving the original feature stone walls & be
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is a sympathetically restored barn, preserving the original feature stone walls & be
 Kitchen is generously equipped with electric cooker, gas hob, fridge, freezer, microwave & wash Cosy sitting room with coal effect gas fire comfy sofas & chairs TV DVD video CD radio books &am
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The cottage is a sympathetically restored barn, preserving the original feature stone walls & be
Kitchen is generously equipped with electric cooker, gas hob, fridge, freezer, microwave & wash
Cosy sitting room with coal effect gas fire comfy sofas & chairs TV DVD video CD radio books &am
Spacious, light and airy double bedroom with Victorian brass bed & room for cot/bed if required.
A charming twin bedded room with beamed ceiling .
With hand made oak fitted cupboards the bathroom comprises a bath with shower, hand basin & toil
Less than five minutes walk to village, canal, local buses & pub with excellent food & real
Set in the beautiful Usk Valley, overlooking the Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal.
Splendid views from the cottage door up to the foothills of the Brecon Beacons
On 20 acre small holding & set in the privacy of its own grounds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
somewhere...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I visited with three friends early this January. The cottage was perfectly equipped for us. It allowed convenient access to the rest of the Brecon Beacons. Linda and her husband were also very cordial.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTcub
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage in a Great Location”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We saw the other reviews of this property and thought we'd try it and very simple to communicate with the owners and book the cottage - I was extremely impressed at how quick responses came.
The property was perfect, a good size and just what we were looking for for our winter get away. Great farmhouse style kitchen and cosey lounge, the fact that the owners are happy for some dogs meant that we could take our little puppy with us and it was a great holiday for him. The only negatives for us were that we did struggle to find the cottage as there are no signs and it felt like we were going up someone elses driveway and the electric shower was a bit disappointing, but that's just our preference of good showers over a bath.
We had a great holiday and being close to the canal and many of the walks around Breacon was just what we wanted! It rained constantly whilst we were there, so hope to go back at a different time of year and see some sunshine.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelLer...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous cottage & location!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I spent a much needed break in the Brecons and it was my first time in Wales. I was stunned by how beautiful the area is and Pentwyn Cottage was absolutely lovely. We drove up the the lane to be met by a gorgeous farm cottage and a wonderful view of the Brecons surrounded by fields of sheep and ponies. The owners were on hand if we needed anything and were so friendly. The cottage had all the amenities we needed and we were lucky to have one of the sunniest and warmest weeks of the year which made it even better. I highly recommend this accommodation and we will definitely look to stay again. Try the Bear at Crickhowell for great food and also the cafe in Talybont on Usk for great sandwiches.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very comfortable, dog friendly property 2 minutes walk from the lovely Brecon and Monmouth canal, has all you need and Mick and Barbara are only to happy to give any advise or help you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelnSt...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location, quaint accommodation, friendly owners. Would definitely recommend it!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a long weekend here with our two teenage children and Labrador and had a wonderful time. The cottage is beautiful. It's in a perfect location for walks and is well equipped with lovely features. Very good value for money. The views are spectacular! There are lots of maps and guide books to refer to and a shelf of books and games for rainy days. WiFi was useful when planning trips too.
Barbara and her husband are friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing