We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful character house with every facility you...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Danyfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen table The butchers block in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The kitchen table
The butchers block in the kitchen
The family bathroom
The Victorian four poster bed
One of the en-suite bathrooms
The hallway
Bedroom 3 - can be set up as a double or twin
Bedroom 1 - huge room with en-suite bathroom and beautiful views
Room 2 - with a traditional four poster bed and an en-suite bathroom
Amazing walks from the house
The view from the house
The Sitting room
The library
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris B
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful character house with every facility you could want”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just loved this marvellous old house. It is in an exceptional location, within easy reach of Brecon and within walking distance of the Beacons. Lots of space, big rooms and unlike many rentals, a proper, fully equipped kitchen. We were greeted by a loaf fresh from the oven and a big plate of brownies, provided by the charming owners - a perfect start to a really enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing for a large family.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We rented Danyfan for my wife's surprise 30th birthday. 9 adults, 1 toddler, and a dog and we had so much room and freedom with the house. We used the kitchen to cater for all of us for breakfast and dinner and again was really roomy. The bedrooms were fab. Plenty of bathrooms and hot water. The living area was amazing and we had great fun playing table tennis. On the Sunday we enjoyed a lovely local roast lamb that we ate outside on the patio. From the house we conquered Pen-y-fan and were blessed with wonderful weather for the whole weekend. The owners were amazing. I cannot recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie c
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday with friends”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

10 of us stayed at Danyfan (plus our baby and dog), walking, wild swimming and relaxing. It was a really lovely place to stay, just a few minutes walk from the start of the ascent up Pen y Fan, with loads of great walks and beautiful scenery close by.

The house and garden have wonderful views of Pen y Fan, and a really tranquil feel. A real plus is that all the bedrooms are pleasant and attractive. Ok, the master bedroom really stands out, with windows on 3 sides and one of the en suites, but Danyfan has that wonderful holiday let attribute that nobody needs to feel they've got the 'bad room'.

Stevie and Emma had made delicious bread, jam and brownies to welcome us when we arrived, and they really went out of their way to make sure they organised everything we could possibly need for our daughter before we arrived.

We had a great week, not just because we were lucky with the weather, but because it's a really lovely spot, and Emma and Stevie have obviously made a huge effort to ensure everything is just right.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryanallb...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Break with friends”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If it's a secluded break in glorious scenery (at the foot of the Brecon Beacons mountain range) in a large but warm and friendly Edwardian house then Dan yfan is the place for you. Perfect as base camp for hiking and biking and what better way to relax after a hard days walking in front of open fires or in the garden.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I stayed at Danyfan Brecon as part of a Yoga long weekend. The house is absolutely beautiful and we felt at home right away. Emma and Stevie made us feel right at home with a G&T (with the local gin) and soon we were eating the first of many absolutely beautiful home cooked meals. I can't emphasize enough how lovely the food was! Everything is sourced locally (or grown in the garden) and every day Stevie made a new loaf of fresh bread. The house itself is stunning and the rooms are cosy and comfortable. We did yoga in the conservatory every morning and spent the afternoons discovering the hills and the surrounding areas. I will definitely be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 400
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing