We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning location, amazing getaway, wonderful...”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gregory C
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning location, amazing getaway, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were a party of around 8 guests who hired out both sections of this converted barn, the Lower and Upper Bull pens. Imagine looking out over tranquil, green rolling hills, pastures, cattle and sheep grazing peacefully while you sip a cocktail while the sun goes down on a perfect stay in a perfect location. Imagine sleeping in stunningly comfortable beds under oak beams, warmed by a log fire and underfloor heating. A location so peaceful and "away from the maddening crowd" that you can fully recharge your batteries in a wonderfully converted barn, to a standard that can only be described as spectacular! Incredibly high standards of decor and furnishings, a wonderful mixture of modern and classic style accommodation, with no expenses spared on fitting these cottages out to an incredible standard. Then you have the hosts, Brian and Fiona who literally go out of their way to make sure their guests are well looked after. Friendly, hospitable and always keen to have a chat. I am an acoustic guitar player, but left my own one at home due to travelling there from a work assignment in Liverpool. When Fiona heard about this, she graciously loan me her son's acoustic guitar to use for the weekend for sing-alongs during the barbecue evening we had. They also joined us for a sing along on our last night, with their beautiful daughter Cloe. We can definitely now call Brian and Fiona our friends. A great stay with great company in a stunning place. Particularly loved the clear skies, we were able to see the stars clearly, with no light pollution. As for sleeping, I fell asleep cacooned in absolute delightful silence. Never slept better. The hot tub was awesome too. The barbecue area well furnished as well, with lovely views over the valleys and hills. Can't wait to come back in the summer for an annual pilgrimage next year and every year after that. Loved it!

Greg and Debbie Contell

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The venue, the location, the high standards and the hosts - all amazing.
Liked least: The venue is tucked away, and only accessible via winding narrow roads
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded Splendour!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a 4 night stay at the lovely Bull Pens. The location is tucked away in a secluded valley, extremely tranquil & no phone signal for total relaxation! The Bull Pens property itself is beautifully decorated to a high standard & equipped with everything you could need. We visited with our 8 month old son & it was even perfectly equipped for him with a cot, change mat & high chair plus a slide & swing in the garden. It makes a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of busy daily lives - I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere...
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It pays to look until you find what you really want”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We like farm-style cottages, but this was the best so far. My wife searched for ages and eventually settled on this one; we're glad she did. We stayed 4 nights and found the fixtures and fittings first class, with everything you need. The style suited us perfectly, a mixture of classic and modern, from the lovely little log burner to the underfloor heating under the tiles, excellent use of natural light via large windows and sky lights, yet wonderfully warm in spite of the large size of the rooms. This, and the rather well insulated building, meant that 3 of us walked around indoors barefoot pretty much the entire time; my wife kept her slippers on as always. No internet the first night (thanks to a storm before we arrived) at first seemed an imposition, but they soon fixed that and we were back in touch with the outside world - what a pity! (and I'm referring to the amount of time we spent doing business and checking emails etc. in the evenings after they fixed it - not their fault but ours). On reflection, we agree that our best day/night there was when we had no access to internet & mobile signals. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR... if you can, work it so that you are not required urgently at home or work and then book a few days at The Bull Pens - with just those you love and be "uncontactable"; you won't regret it. Fiona and Brian are wonderful. They leave you to rest and enjoy but are available should you need anything. Our children loved feeding the cows and Brian was great with our special needs son; he was delighted to meet the "Big Bull"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of property, warmth great service and excellent beds
Liked least: Tha it rained so much (which could not be helped)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing break in a stunning venue”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say anything bad about our stay at the Bull Pens. We stayed from Friday afternoon until midday on Sunday. The weather was awful and a storm meant the power cut out a few times during our first evening. But Fiona and her husband came in to give us torches and check everything was OK.

The rooms were spotless and well furnished. The converted barn was huge and there was lots of space for us to do our own thing (I travelled with my partner and our friends who are a couple too) if we wanted to or sit in the lounge in the evening to relax by the fire.

A great stay with great company in a stunning place. Particularly loved the clear skies, we were able to see the milky way at night, which I've only been able to see in the recesses of Mull in Scotland before. The hot tub was awesome too. Can't wait to come back in the summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megan b
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My fiance and I stayed at the bull pens last week for a one night stay to celebrate our engagement. I contacted various cottages with log fires and hot tubs in the hope i could be accomadated at such short notice. Various came back with unreasonable costs and were not flexible with the check out times.
I stumbled across this beauty, and thought there was no way I could afford to stay and stay past the check out time. To my suprise, Fiona responded promptly, with a very reasonable rate for the night and agreed we could stay later at no extra cost!
When we arrived Fiona greeted us with her lovely friendly smile and welcomed us to her cottage. The cottage was breath taking, with beautifully finished interior, traditional wooden beams throughout, lovely spacious rooms and a sense of a homely feel. Fiona had left us with champagne and flutes as a gift, which meant a lot! The hot tub was another finishing touch it was so warm and relaxing!
The following day we looked out of the window and all we could see were hills and beautiful views of the mountains, it really felt magical!
Weve decided to come back again in the summer with family as this is such a perfect place for newly engaged couples to families or for somebody looking to get away for a night or two! Completely gutted we had to leave but super excited to come back!
I never write reviews but felt I really wanted to share with others how beautiful,magical,clean,homely yhe cottages are and kind Fiona and her husband are also
Thankyou for a memorable stay and cant wait to see you again!! Xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 838
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing