We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very welcoming for a quick cuppa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Rhydd Ddu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very welcoming for a quick cuppa”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had no idea there was a tea-room in apparently secluded Rhyd Ddu - we got off the steam train to do a short walk around Snowdonia but the weather held us back a bit leaving us to grab lunch and drop into Ty Mawr for tea.

Absolutely loved it... very welcoming hosts, lovely lovely atmosphere... like being everywhere in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Have a lemon drizzle cake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timespacecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Friendly, helpful hosts, great food, clean, comfortable rooms, lovely atmosphere. Also, you can do some of the best walks in Snowdonia right from the front door. The pub down the road is not bad either. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked out the B&B as a base while some friends and I took part in a charity walk up snowdon. You couldn't ask for anything else Emma and Menno welcomed us into their home, made sure that we had everything we needed, gave fabulous advice on our walk and made the whole trip thoroughly enjoyable. Breakfasts were fab, a varied selection of food and lots of it. Packed lunches were perfect for our walk up. I would highly recommend Ty Mawr they made our stay extrememly comfortable before and after our little stroll up that hill (and they were even kind enough to donate to our charity) Lovely people, lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed with my partner, plus my sister and her husband for three days over Easter. We had the two double rooms with shared bathroom and shower. The B&B looks simple and cosy but it is the welcome and 'home from home' experience that makes this place five star! My only complaint is that I put on an extra few pounds with the lovely breakfasts and packed lunches (Magic Flapjaks that just dissapear).

Rhydd Ddu is the quiter side of Snowdon and out of the way of the usual tourist traffic. The routes up Snowden start over the road and no further driving was required over the weekend (we ate dinner in the pub down the road), we were straight on the hills each time.

We loved it! and will be back xx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te51WEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Mawr - excellent from start to finish! There is nothing not to like about this little Welsh B&B. The location couldn't be better for walking, our room had everything we needed and the food was great in the B&B and the local pub. See you soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshSmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydd Ddu
0.0 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 km away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#3 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Snowdon Ranger
YHA Snowdon Ranger
#2 of 2 in Rhydd Ddu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Property: Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Address: Rhydd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL , Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhydd Ddu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rhydd Ddu
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,687 - ₹ 5,687
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing