We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay and great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay and great value for money.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stopped here for one night with a group of 4 women. We were in two twin rooms with lovely views of Snowdon. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even filled up all my water bottles for me before I set off for a trip up Snowdon. The breakfast was very nice and excellent value for money, certainly did not need to upgrade to the full english. We had our evening meal in the pub bar, food was very good and filling, plenty of choice on the menu too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellymac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    594
    344
    130
    114
See reviews for
210
823
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Location is good being near all the main amenities, especially being so close to the Snowdon railway. Hotel is an imposing building with nice garden however it's pretty tired which you could accept if kept clean but unfortunately it was quite dirty. Having paid 60 pounds per night I don't consider this good value for money. Customer service could be better, I had to complain 3 times in order for them to do something about the broken tv. Shame as the hotel has potential but poor maintenance and cleanliness lets it down.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyASG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atherstone
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on 2nd may 2012. Cost £38 for a double room with full English and continental breakfast. Room was very clean and spacious. Water was lovely and hot. Heated towel rail in bathroom Radiators boiling if needed. ( they could be turned off) Flat screen tv and coffee facilities. The iron and ironing board were spotless which is a first for any hotel i have stopped in. Breakfast was wonderful and staff were very professional and helpful. We will be returning. What a great value stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A great hotel. Great location, great facilities etc. I come here often between September and April as their are some really good deals. I avoid it in the summer though as it is really expensive then and I would personally rather camp for a few quid in the summer months!
Rooms are great as long as you are in the main hotel part: (the bit out the back is not as nice).
Facilities are great: the restaurant is really stunning, good food too. The bar is great and a welcome sight after a hard days climbing. It stays open as long as you stay awake!
Friendly staff, and very warm, which considering I go in the cooler months is a big bonus.

Finally I would add that even for a hiker like me, navigation is quite difficult. There are corridors after corridors. It's like something off the film "The Shining"! But that adds to the attraction for me: the place is huge and really grand.

I've always loved staying there and I would highly recommend it. In summer there's probably cheaper alternatives, but after the holiday season, there's no better place in Snowdonia to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivekskevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from the Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, on a special two day offer directly through the hotel. The rooms are adequate, bathroom quite small, beds comfy and linen changed every day.
We were in the extension part of the hotel, which means a lift to second floor, a walk through few corridors to second lift, and then further along to our rooms.
The meals were dinner and breakfast, three course dinner, which was very nice but they got our tables mixed up the second evening, but quickly resolved the situation.
There was happy hour 3 - 7pm each day, on selected drinks, there were several lounge areas, but furniture could do with an update, and most quite dated, and in need of repair.
The hotel is ideally situated for the Snowdonia Mountain Railway, but due to bad weather, we were not able to go up, as the train was stopped the first day, and the second day was fully booked until late afternoon, although again only going half way up due to the weather.,
All in all, very nice two days, and managed to see quite a lot of the area.
Ideal situation for walkers.

Room Tip: Room 315 is quite, but quite a way away from the restaurant and lounge areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozartSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
21.2 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
21.8 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
6.9 km away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
531 reviews
25.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,036 - ₹ 9,504
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing