We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
101
71
23
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
71
23
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews massive tv dog friendly hotel stayed here for one night comfy bed great shower an evening meal couldn't do enough two nights lamb beautiful setting pleasant stay fantastic location warm welcome feel very welcome the main road village base
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were great.
Hotel was very clean.
Free wifi.
Separate eating area for if you have pets with you which is good for those without pets.
Breakfast was good.
free parking at the rear of the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. The staff were absolutely fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. The refurbished rooms are very pleasant and all rooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast was superb and piping hot. Fabulous location very central to all amenities in the village. Dogs made to feel very welcome in bar and rooms.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 788stewarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Chocolat cupcake with my tea...the best one. Really nice place and very warm welcome. Prices are more that correct and large choice for everything. Thank u for everything, specialy for the chocolat cupcake

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rony Isabel Agn... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Booked one night en-route further into Wales- was a special anniversary and this was acknowledged and a very nice room allocated to us. Nicely decorated with a good shower.

The welcome was lovely, nice reception area and good parking
Breakfast was extra and you could choose between paying for a full cooked, continental or just coffee and toast - this is rather nice if you just want a light breakfast as you are only charged accordingly. You do have to select everything the night before though.
Would stay again if in this lovely town.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KasOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed your special anniversary.

We hope we might be able to welcome you back for your next special anniversary (if not before!)

Best wishes and Kindest regards

Dawn and The Gwydyr Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

I called into this place after a long drive on a hot Sunday in June and seeing the sign for food called in. I was told that they weren't doing food until 16:00 as the chef was feeding a private party, I could only see a number of people watching television!
If the chef was in the kitchen, what is the difficulty in making me food, is that not what he or she is there for?

To save yourself some time don't bother to stop off at all, unless you want to watch TV.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Dam m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am so sorry you were disappointed that you were unable to have food before 4pm and I am so sorry that you did not seen the numerous signs posted reflecting this.

The reason why we were unable to accommodate food until 4pm was due to the fact that our chefs were catering for 100 people at a venue off site as our own site only caters for a maximum of 80. So please accept my apologies that this wasn't communicated better to you.

As this is not the norm for our establishment, but a special request from a regular customer, I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kindest regards

Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews