We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, friendly knowledgeable host and good breakfast.”
Review of Plas Gwyn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Gwyn
Ranked #6 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We stayed in the twin room for 3 nights while we did some walking up Snowdon and around Beddgelert. The price was reasonable, the room clean and well equipped, and the bed very comfortable. We had a view over the back garden and it was lovely and quiet. Brian was a great host, very friendly and had a host of maps and booklets. There's a drying room which we were lucky enough not to need. No phone signal (I'm on O2) but we had wifi. Car parking was in the free car park 200 yards up the road which worked perfectly well. Breakfast was plentiful too.

Room Tip: Double on the front, first floor had two windows and faced the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivanhoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2016

Plas Gwyn is located in a prime spot in picture-postcard pretty Beddgelert. Brian, the owner and host, was kind and helpful. The room (#2) has a prime view of the river and mountains. It was recently renovated and has a calming, simple decor. The bathroom is very tiny. The bed was softer than we would choose, but we slept well. A full Welsh breakfast was prepared to order and was okay, but not as nice as we've had elsewhere. Brian took the time to review maps with us and suggested a couple of walks that might suit our interests. It was raining and Snowden was too windy, so we chose a walk about ten miles long that started right at Plas Gwyn. It offered everything we could hope for -- mountain vistas, crystal clear streams, varied landscapes, privacy, interesting stone buildings, border collies herding, friendly welsh ponies, a delicious cafe lunch, and a narrow gauge train passing with the conductor waving as he leaned out of the engine ( right out of Thomas the Tank engine!). The whole experience was truly memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PdxPortland_oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Just spent the Easter weekend at Plas Gwyn in Beddgelert
Well it is Wales , it was the bank holiday...so of course it rained ....and rained again and then hailed , but there was some sun , but nothing could dampen the warmth and hospitality of Brian at Plas Gwyn .
A great host who provided plenty of local info advice a great breakfast and a waterproof map of the local area !!
My only criticism was that it was at least 50 yards to the Tanronnen for a few cheeky beers and probably 20 yards to the Hebog Bistro that serves amazing food !! ...... Only kidding .... An amazing place to stay

Make sure you look him up soon !!

Thanks Brian see you again soon

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Skybluemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed 4 nights and couldn't have wished for a better host - Brian was very welcoming and helpful without being OTT. Every morning he helped us plan the day giving useful tips about the area and lending his maps/ guidebooks. And we had a superb view from our room (number 2). Beddgelert is ideally located for walking some stunning routes and for visiting interesting sights. I just wish we could stay longer - one definitely comes back mentally refreshed from a place as beautiful as Beddgelert. Lack of mobile phone reception is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Three of us were walking and exploring the area and booked a one night stay We arrived later than normal and had no problems. The rooms were well equipped. Positioned perfectly for eateries, parking facilities etc. A great base for walks and if the weather catches you there is a good drying room. Brian is a perfect host and a master cook, the breakfasts are a walkers dream. He helped us along with other residents to locate a lost (50 years ago) 'Walking Hut' with maps of all scales and ideas. A perfect stay - Brian we will be back........

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beddgelert hotels
0.3 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0 km away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
114 reviews
0.9 km away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 12 in Beddgelert
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Glaslyn Gallery & Coach House
Glaslyn Gallery & Coach House
#8 of 12 in Beddgelert
16 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
246 reviews
0.1 km away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#3 of 12 in Beddgelert
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Gwyn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn Beddgelert, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing