We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shellaukney Lodge

Large spacious open living with log burner and 50 inch plasma
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large spacious open living with log burner and 50 inch plasma
The decking to the front of the house with the roof garden just visible Outside decking / dining area at Clai mawr Bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Large spacious open living with log burner and 50 inch plasma
The decking to the front of the house with the roof garden just visible
Outside decking / dining area at Clai mawr Bungalow
The Dining /pool table... for all the family fun
High class relaxation in the spacious living room
Utilse the Kitchen while enjoying the open living aspect
The large Kitchen island for easy preparation
double bedroom with ensuite
double bedroom
double bedroom
bedroom with ensuite shower
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
the Modernistic Family shower room
log burner at night( cosy and warm)
The visitor book
Some visitior comments
More visitor comments
Traeth yr Ora  beach Dulas Bay
Winter Snowdon - 25 minute drive from the house
Benllech Beach
Surf Snowdonia
Snowdonia white water rafting
King Arthurs Labarynth ( Scary )
Shipwrecks at Dulas bay near Y-ora beach
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pentraeth, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
moira2511
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here whilst competing in a rally at Angelesy Circuit. There were 8 of us...we did notice the ninth bed, after reading about its location in the informative welcome book. The cottage was perfect for our needs, and the log burner was a welcome treat when drying wet clothing.
We didn't have a problem with parking, noted others had commented in it in the guest book. We had a car and two transit vans, one with a rally car on trailer.
Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner
Liked least: Two of the party found their beds v uncomfortable (first room on left)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megg W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we will be going back!”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I went with a group of 9 for my birthday weekend and could not fault the place. beautifully decorated and well equipped, the pictures actually don't do the place justice.
the only minor issues we had was the 'sleeps nine', unless someone is willing to sleep on the couch... there are only 8 beds.
the electric meter was left in £10.48 debt, however the owner was more than reasonable and transferred money to my account to fix this.
all in all it was a perfect getaway for a group and I will definitely be booking this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review it is so nice when people have a great stay in our holiday home. However, there are 9 beds, one is called a trundle bed and pulls out from underneath the other one, you must have missed it. Many thanks again we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great holiday home”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the bungalow for 3 days and I have to say we loved it. The kids had loads of room, our family of 9 fitted in great and the space and style of the place was just fantastic. I can't really criticise the place although it would benefit from wifi. The roof garden gave us wonderful views with a glass of wine in hand and the pool table gave us hours of fun....only problem our stay was too short....we will return!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayJu...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious and great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great open plan bungalow, with enough room for our party of 7. Open plan nature of property suited our group perfectly.

Positives: wood burning stove, despite it being August the evenings bit chilly and also with young children we needed to use washing machine so it threw enough heat out for us to dry clothes and towels! (Note you have to buy your own wood though)

The roof terrace was brill, we spent couple of afternoons/early evenings sat up there and has wonderful views across Red Wharf Bay- really good idea and USP for the property

Dishwasher, washing machine and 2 shower rooms was perfect for the size of our party too, though the second shower cut out frequently when both showers operated at same time.

4 bedrooms, with varying bed options, so perfect for families or groups of friends

Location, 5 mins drive from Red Wharf Bay and 15 mins from Menai Bridge

Large screen TV

Negatives: only one wine glass! No veg peeler and pans were quite small! Considering it is 4 bed roomed bungalow and for self catering we would have expected utensils and pans etc to cope with the size of our group- luckily we had read a previous review, so bought some of our own stuff.

Parking is an issue as barely room for 1 car and as privately owned on a caravan park you aren't supposed to park any more cars- given size of bungalow realistically there is a likelihood other people will have more than one car, alternative parking is on the lay-by on the main road about 500m away. We noted the caravan park is up for sale, so the owners may be able to come to some arrangement with new owners, the current owners of the park weren't so obliging!

You have to pay for electricity, it isn't included in price, couldn't see this was detailed on property information prior to booking, however in August no bother and think it only really cost us about £20 for the week. You just need to keep a check on the meter as top up is short drive away at the co op!

Also the TV signal goes when it rains! And this isn't in particularly stormy weather! Not sure much owners can do, but if your evening plan is to curl up with glass of wine in front of TV once kids in bed then your night is scuppered!

Would recommend owners exploring getting wifi as mobile phone signal very poor (it is like this for large swathes of Anglesey so beyond owners control) but installing wifi would add to the appeal of the property- certainly in this day and age, though being 'cut off' from outside world had a certain appeal!

We would definitely recommend this property and really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Liked least: Car parking
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your 4/5 review, we value your opinions and try to respond to them in an effort to improve our guests holidays.

The house has parking for 3 cars, so this has left us a little confused. Two cars are parked on the left hand side drive and one at the front of the house, however we were told by some residents that you had visitors on some of your days and there was up to five cars at the house at one time, this did cause a little bit of upset with some of the caravan owners in the vacinity.

Since your stay we have bought a full set of wine glasses and replenished the utensils, pots and pans due to some breakages and sad to say, theft of some items.

The electricity is a meter and costs an average weekly stay about £15-£20 per stay and we are having wifi fitted this winter, your quite right it is becoming an essential on holiday for most of us now.

Thanks again for your kind comments and advice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, open plan style & the wood burner was fabulous
Liked least: no WiFi which was advertised and greatly desired by teenagers of the group
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing