We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick stop”
Review of Holyhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holyhead Lodge
Ranked #7 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2017

easy to find - lovely lady but sadly no mention of dog wandering about and house reeks of it - have dog allergy after chemo and had to vacate immediately - also lower room reeked of damp and very concerning for my health - however the effort and small touches are outstanding and every little thing has been thought of - if you are not pet tolerant pls avoid as it cost a lot of money to have to leave almost immediately - felt bit duped as this was not mentioned in the advertisement

Room Tip: request upstairs as smells damp downstairs and reeks of dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidclements8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi
Firstly thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry you found the dogs not to your taste, but they do not go into the dining room, which is the only communal area for guests.
The only other areas are the hall and kitchen which are tiled and are steam mopped every day, so as to your comment about the house reeking of dogs I cannot agree with you at all.
As to you saying that your room smelled of damp, we have just had the shower leaking above that room and it was still drying out, so I do have to apologise for that, had we not have been full we would have moved you to another room.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

I arrived by motorbike on a very wet day I was greeted by a cup of tea and Pearl dried my wet gear, both Pearl and Mal couldn't do enough for me I had everything I needed and the breakfast is to die for I do hope to visit the Holyhead Lodge again.
Thanks for your hospitality,
Gerry

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gerryN.Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Half way round a bit of a tour around Wales and after staying in some fairly anonymous and frankly seedy hotels this B&B was a breath of fresh air. We were instantly made to feel very welcome by Pearl and Mel with cups of tea and home made scones. We stayed in the main house on the only room on the ground floor. It was fairly small but perfectly adequate for a one night stay.The house is on a Holyhead back street with no through traffic so we had no trouble sleeping. The one-way streets around Holyhead can be a bit tricky to navigate but the house is literally minutes away from the town centre. Should we return to the area we would have no hesitation in staying here again

Room Tip: Ground floor room in the main house is quite small but ideal if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermelrose2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Ive just stayed at holyhead lodge with my 8 week old daughter for a 2 night break. The place was lovely great room and fab breakfast and the owners were great nothing was too much trouble i would highly recommend this b&b to anyone and will definitley be returning in the future

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

After recently staying at this premises I must say the hosts are very welcoming and friendly.
The house is lovely
I was able to leave my car on the road outside the premises over the wkend whilst I sailed to Ireland with no trouble at all.
It's only a 5-10min walk to the port
Ideal for anyone using the port.
Would recommend for anyone
Thank you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank stuo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.2 km away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
33.6 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
2.8 km away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#9 of 25 in Holyhead
217 reviews
1.1 km away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 25 in Holyhead
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyhead Lodge

Address: 63 Maeshyfryd Road, Holyhead LL65 2AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: ₹ 4,968 - ₹ 7,389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holyhead Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast about a five minute walk from the ferry/railway terminal (we do run a shuttle service back and too). We also pick up from the late night ferry.The Lodge rooms are across the Courtyard from the main house, each has its own private entrance off the driveway, one is a double and the other a twin(the twin has two ensuites, and a small kitchenette).The rest of the rooms are in the main house. We have private gated parking with CCTV cameras for your security.All rooms are ensuite.All rooms have drinking stations with a selection of tea / coffee / chocolate / decaff / green tea / biscuits ect. All rooms have filter jugs for fresh filtered water, there are docking stations in all our room for your iphones or ipods.All rooms have flat screen tv's with free view or free sat channels, and clock radio alarms.We pride ourselves on getting it right for your stay and nothing is to much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holyhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyhead Lodge Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing