We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful surroundings, fantastic accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bodfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden Front garden and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden
Front garden and path
Back garden path from car park
Back garden
Bodfan side garden
Lounge with multi-fuel stove
Dining room with hatch to kitchen
Kitchen eating area
Well supplied kitchen
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Twin-bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Double bedroom
Cloakroom with mixer shower
Bathroom with mixer shower
Back garden
Rural view and front field
Occasional visitors to the field
Sunrise over Snowdonia viewed from Bodfan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chilanga...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful surroundings, fantastic accommodation, peace and quiet!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Bodfan is one of those rare rental properties on Anglesey that offers great comfort AND space. We stay on Anglesey at least once a year and will no longer look for anywhere else! The house easily sleeps 8 people and there is plenty of living space to relax in and enjoy the peace of the area. During one evening of our stay, we entertained 12 people in the dining room. I should mention that a neighbour has her own catering business and produces great food – her cakes are AMAZING! Just ask Bodfan’s proprietor for details, you’ll not regret it.

There are two bathrooms – one with a shower and one with a bath/shower. We stayed during a cold spell and the central heating and wood burner kept us all cozy and warm. There is so much space in the house that you can always find a quiet corner to yourself if needed.

As Bodfan is fairly central - you can explore Anglesey easily.

Gillian, the proprietor, is extremely friendly and helpful. We had no problems with our accommodation and can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountwood
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable, and even the dog is welcoming.”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This was our second winter visit to Bodfan and we were not disappointed. It is comfortable, spacious and cosy. If you want exercise there are bracing walks, and if you feel lazy you can just stay in and watch the birds. Your hosts are welcoming and available if needed, but not intrusive. We were a group of 8 friends, but Bodfan would be just as nice for families with children and in summer must be idyllic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire, and the peaceful location.
Liked least: The new shower wasn't working properly.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and freedom
Liked least: Possibly a larger screen TV is required and more powerful shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
muddy_7
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely house and gardens - we loved playing hide + seek !”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

After sorting out who gets which bedroom - quite a debate at times - we had a lovely time in the garden drinking tea and enjoying the garden. There is a dining room but we never used it as we loved to sit in the conservatory watching the bird feeders when we were eating or keeping the kids entertained.
Fairly isolated location, definitely need a car, but on the other hand just so peaceful with great views. Some of our Anglesey highlights - getting hen + duck eggs from the smallholding nearby - womderful couple and the best eggs. Also the Oriol Ynys Mon art gallery, which we went to on a wet afternoon and found it to be so much more than an art gallery - dressing-up box, games, colouring etc - an eye-opening afternoon.
When the sun shone we went to Trearddur Bay, about 20 mins away, which is a lovely beach to pass a few hours digging in the sand and paddling in the shallow bay.
Overall a good week despite half the week being wet/damp days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the views
Liked least: Having to get in the car every time we went out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing