We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm, friendly and characterful cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Velvet Cottage

Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge Two seater leather settee and views across the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Fabulous rainbow viewed from Velvet Cottage's garden
Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge
Two seater leather settee and views across the valley
Kitchen and dining area
Offroad parking bay, cottage frontage and garden
Superking bed
Twin beds
Bathroom showing full size bath and shower
Single bedroom
View across the valley from Velvet Cottage front terrace
The rumour is true - Eliseg's pillar does contain a pot of gold!!
Abbey Terrace and Velvet Hill from Llantysilio slate tramway
Llantysilio Church with snowdrops in Spring
Plas Newydd with Spring crocuses
Clwydian Way (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage) in Winter
Valle Crucis Abbey and carp pond
Horseshoe Falls on the River Dee (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage)
Valle Crucis Abbey in evening sunshine
Valle Crucis Abbey and Dinas Bran castle from Velvet Hill (behind Velvet Cottage)
Velvet Hill from the Llantysilio Mountain tramway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Simon U
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A warm, friendly and characterful cottage.”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've loved Llangollen ever since my mum and dad used to stop over there on the way through to Llandudno, for my childhood family holidays.

Since that time, I've visited and stayed many times. Velvet Cottage is about 2 miles out of Llangollen itself, but is an easy stroll down the canal to get into town or via any other picturesque walks. We decided to stay here, due to its proximity to the Llangollen Brewery, sited in the Abbey Grange Hotel and the walking opportunities.

The cottage has bags of character. There is a small cozy living room and a nice, large, well-appointed kitchen. The bedrooms are really comfy and the super kingsize bed is massive!

I tend to judge properties on the atmosphere and 'vibe' they have, rather than if it has ultra modern fittings and decor etc. so this place really scores for me.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The general welcoming feel of the place.
Liked least: The shower was very weak.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hu M
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb location, helpful and informative owners, lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The location of this cottage is excellent - just outside Llangollen, across the road from Valle Crucis Abbey, nestled into Velvet Hill. It's a great base for visiting local attractions, a starting point for scenic drives or interesting walks of varying length and difficulty, or just a quiet bolthole if you want to get away from it all for a while!

The owners forwarded us much useful information before we even set off, and there was much more in the cottage, from leaflets and maps - including spares for us to take, to detailed instructions for walks in the area, to info on how to operate the appliances. We were also very grateful for the welcome gift of a bottle of wine for the adults and the ginger beer for the kids.

The cottage itself is full of character; we managed to avoid bumping our heads on the sloping ceilings and low doorways, but we had to be careful! The stairs are quite steep, which was not a problem for us, but young children or anyone with reduced mobility might find it a bit tricky. Likewise, the entrance is up a couple of flights of steps from the road. The kitchen/diner, bathroom, main and twin bedrooms are all good-sized rooms. The single bedroom is quite cosy and the living room is fine - seating for 5 - but not huge; the open space at the bottom of the stairs, with a big desk, was useful for our teens to set up their laptop and feel like they had a bit of their own space. The cottage is well-equipped, too. (No dishwasher - if we'd stayed for longer I might have felt that lack more!)

In terms of the local area, it's a lovely walk to Llangollen along the owners' recommended route around the back of Velvet Hill and along the canal. We took the shorter way back as it was starting to get dark, and this was rather quicker but along the road for some of the way so not as interesting. The climb up Velvet Hill (taking the path opposite the Valle Crucis turning) is very steep but the views from the top are fabulous - make sure you have shoes with a good grip though, and/or walking poles, as coming down is pretty slippy...

The town of Llangollen is interesting, with beautiful views of the river, a lovely old church and various other attractions. We can highly recommend the Dee Side Café right next to the bridge for homemade, well-cooked food such as chicken burgers, gammon and egg, vegetable curry and the most delicious chips! The fudge from the Fudge Factory is also excellent. We took a canal boat trip (bus transfer to the aqueduct then boat back to Llangollen) and that was great, the views were better for it being this time of year because there were fewer leaves on the trees! The skipper was really friendly too, and happy to chat informally about the history of the canal and aqueduct if you stood on the viewing platform. The steam train sadly wasn't running while we were there but we've heard excellent things about it and will definitely try it out next time we visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Our stay was too short!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Llangollen Velvet Cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house on a whole was gorgeous, well laid out and spacious. It was close enough to the town for nearly daily runs to the co-op. The house easily slept four people with no hassle, and the complementary bottle of wine was an unexpected treat. The home owners were a delight to meet in person and i would most definitely travel there again, when ever I can.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelljoe11...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“brilliant location would stay again loved it”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at velvet cottage for a 3 night weekend break, oct 24th -27th and had great weather the drive from manchester was about an hour and a half and its easy enough to find, off road parking for only one car, cottage is really good everything you need is there and the views are amazing nice touch as well with the heating on low so it was nice and warm when we arrived plus a bottle of pop and a wine on the kitchen table,if your taller than 5ft 5ish you will be banging your head on the door frames upstairs as they are low but it adds to the cottagey feel, it is an old building, my 2 boys loved the single bedroom its small and cavern like but there nana got that room much to there disappointment owners are very responsive and very welcoming and they give you a printout with a few walks to do we did a couple, we went on the aqueduct boat trip takes about 2 hours and is very interesting with brilliant views, llangollen centre is very nice and it seems to be busy with tourists from around the world, near the cottage is an derelict abbey which is worth a look around, there are no streetlights around the cottage so it is very very dark so a torch is needed which is provided in the cottage if you venture out after dark, pub nearby the abbey grange is not very nice which is a shame. i wouldnt recommend eating here but everyone is different and likes different things, great cottage great break would and have recomended and will hopefully stay again

good points
location is picturesque apart from the road you could be in the middle of nowhere
walks are great with great views
cottage is well priced and positioned
llangollen is a short walk away and worth a visit
cottage is warm and cosy

bad points
wifi is patchy but you are in the countryside
only one parking bay (not an issue for us)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCHULTZ M
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La situation, le charme du cottage, les rapports avec les propriétaires
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing