We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Niagra lodge

the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lodge
En-suite Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
the lodge
En-suite
Kitchen
Open plan dining
Open plan
Outside decking
Outside decking
Just walking the dog
Bootz
Thomas the tank engine 5 mins away
Corn mill for a nice meal on the river
Llangollen town 5 mins away
Wellie cleaner
Vale of Llangollen golf course 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faulkner7...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed in April 2016 as a group of 8 and had a brilliant two night stay. The lodge itself is brilliant with lots of space and good sized bedroom. The master bedroom was great with its own en-suite, the second double was also a good size with its own en-suite (although only a bath no shower). The third double was also a good size but no en-suite. The fourth bedroom has a bunk bed and is ideal for a family or group of friends. I would recommend if you go in a big group you stagger the showers or make sure someone doesn't take too long as the hot water ran out on us once.

The lodge was well equipped with a plenty of space. The only slight downsize is the lodge sleeps 8, however the main table has only 6 chairs, which isn't a major issue, although it would of been nice to sit everyone around the table.

The lodge was also very tidy and really easy to heat either by using the heating controls or by lighting a fire. Lots of places to buy wood or if you prefer to get it yourself there are plenty of walks around the local area.

The lodge is on a loverly site with outstanding scenery and wildlife. The site is well equipped with reception, swimming pools and individual drives. Just bare in mind the swimming pool does not have changing rooms and was only open 10-4 during our stay and is only 1.2m deep so more suited for families rather than older groups.

The area around the lodge is also very nice with lots of things to do. Llangollen itself is only a 10 minute drive and has all the local amenities you will need. If you fancy some nice food with a few beers I would recommend The Corn Mill, which catered for all 8 of us without a problem.

The owner was very friendly, contacted me a couple of days before to go through everything and left the rest to us, no hassle not pushy and not demanding. Really nice bloke with a great attitude.

I've rated the lodge 4 out of 5 based on a few minor things. (Lack of chairs and the hot water issue). Saying that I would still highly recommend this to anyone and would defiantly go back in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay ,the showers do require a schedule when 8 stay and its very cold as we're all electric ,so happy you will be back in the future many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraharti...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Location & brilliant facilities”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at Niagra Lodge. The scenery was quite stunning, we spent ages just sitting in the lounge and staring at the beautiful view! So relaxing & peaceful. We went away with friends and three children, who loved the indoor swimming pool and exploring the site - there's a lovely little stream which we spent ages paddling in! So good for toddlers!

The lodge itself was really tastefully decorated, was spacious and comfortable. Really good value for money overall.

The only improvements would be to add a couple of extra things in the kitchen - we couldn't find any kitchen scissors, a measuring jug or enough utensils and the toaster was a bit dodgy! But this didn't really matter & we had a wonderful time. Thanks!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Hi so glad you had a great time will be replacing missing items you wouldn't believe what goes missing ,toaster on its way ,many thanks Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannot F
Cheadle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too many shortcomings for such a high price”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The building is certainly promising and reflects the picture as it is shown on this website. However, when staying at Niagra Lodge for a week, many things had to be addressed which were eventually sorted during our holidays. It was not all the small things altogether, but the many inconveniences we encountered, such as:-
- Leakage shower upstairs affecting bathroom downstairs,
- No suitable bath/shower for disabled people despite of general wheelchair accessibility,
- No shower in one en-suite bedroom despite of holding bar on the wall,
- Some lights were broken or not present and were not replaced accordingly,
- Inconsistent numbers - and even lack - of utensils,
- Problems with TV now and then,
- No WiFi and very weak aerial for mobile phones,
- Some wardrobes broken,
- Sometimes the dishwasher is not working properly leaving many items still wet or not washed thoroughly.
There was no information/welcome pack for those holidaying/visitors, and there was no visitor's comments book to read through about their experiences.
I had written an e-mail to the proprietor addressing these issues during our holidays, but I had no reply at all from him, although some of the issues were resolved through the cleaner. To be honest, I was surprised to have heard nothing at all from him after my recent e-mail as he was usually replying promptly, but that is fine by me. Just a bit of advice - if anyone is celebrating a special event such as my 50th birthday, don't go there. Llangollen has a lot to offer indeed, and so are other (and better) houses or at least, book at Hoseasons which have recently acquired similar houses nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings and the squirrels
Liked least: As described in the review
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay in our lodge ,we try to speak to everyone of our guests to find out how best we can inform them to suit their requirements ,we did phone you without reply and gave you our phone number ,due to no contact we drove the 50 miles for your arrival informed you of all the necessary information and drove home again ,we contacted a plumber immediately you informed us and you arranged a time convienient for you ,our cleaner takes care of small matters that arise such as bulbs ,we have a fully functional stock of kitchen utensils ,t,v and phone signals are being improved all the time in the snowdonia national park ,we explained wifi was only available in reception 9-5 although there is a site upgrade being done now,dishwasher programmes have to finish there cycle ,ongoing repairs are a important concern to us which we take care of as and when they happen ,we are extremely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as most of our guests return , many thanks Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just got back from a 4 night stay for New Year with friends & couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The lodge is in a beautiful location, high up so not overlooked and has a really homely feel about it. Although the weather was rubbish, lighting the log burner and sitting back looking at the view was satisfying enough!
We all agreed this was definatly somewhere we would all return very soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Thanks for your nice words so happy you enjoyed our lodge , look forward to seeing again , thanks again Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754wendy
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“beautiful lodge and setting”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

what a fantastic lodge set in stunning surroundings. Everything about it was perfect, down to the last detail. We all had a great week-end ( 6 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs) and have come home with some lovely happy memories. Many thanks, Robbie - what a shame you are fully booked for Christmas!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you we hope to see you again soon Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing