We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Pennant

Capel Pennant
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Capel Pennant
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Capel Pennant
Archway in bedroom with view down into the sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faye9100
3 reviews
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful amazing place, so peaceful. Had everything we needed! Fantastic hosts. Will definitely be booking again x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peace and comfort”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Capel Pennant was ideal for us while we walked on the Offa's Dyke path for a few days. The cottage was well equipped, very comfortable and stylish with lovely simple decor to compliment the character of the building. But it was the setting which really made it a wonderful place to stay. We were able to sit out each evening and watch all the wildlife, particularly the amazing swallows, circling around Plas Pennant itself and swooping down the lovely valley. although there was a TV it didn't get used even once. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason N
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Capel Pennant is one of those remarkable places you never want to leave, cut off from the hustle and bustle of the world it is truly the perfect place to book if you need to get away from it all. From the sheep lazily bleating on the surrounding hillsides to the sounds of goldfinches chirping away and house martins swooping overhead, the first thing you will notice upon arrival is just how tranquil it is! The views down into the Ceiriog Valley are wonderful but don't forget to look up as well, the skies at night are pitch black and you get a very clear view of the stars

The accommodation was clean, cosy and decorated in a tasteful manner befitting the property. Absolutely no complaints about it whatsoever. The location was also ideal for visiting places such as Llangollen, Chester, Chirk Castle, the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, and the Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall. Travelling further afield to Caernarfon Castle or Snowdon is also possible and only a 90 minute drive away taking in some fantastic scenery along the way.

There was certainly a sense of sadness when having to leave, Capel Pennant is perfect and I would definitely recommend it to others reading this review. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the Ceiriog Valley/Llangollen area you wont find a finer place than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cheeky chickens who would wait outside by the door every morning.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morganChe...
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of gems”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

upon arriving at the chapel we were stunned at the magical beauty of the place.
Nick and Derek gave us a warm welcome and we fell in love with the chapel as soon as we stepped inside,
Charming and romantic it was well equipped for all our needs and it truly is a gem among gems in this tranquil corner of wales
Thank you Nick and Derek for sharing this wonderful place WE will be back for a visit soon
loved every minute.
highly recommend
Ange and phil savage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Loved all of it
Liked least: We found nothing we didnt like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluemel
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Idyllic accommodation in a magical location.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is as I say an idyllic place to stay. Beautifully furnished to a high standard and immaculately presented. There is everything you may need for a very comfortable stay. The location is absolutely spectacular, with a view second to none. The peacefulness of the place is surreal, as is the blackness of the nights, hard to imagine we were in the UK.
This place is well hidden, but convenient for somewhere to stay to explore this stunning area. Nick and Derek are usually around the place next door and have a wealth of information as to where to eat out in the area. We chose to eat in the cottage as it was just so lovely ......
The walking around here is endless, as is the wildlife etc. If you are looking for an "away from it all" break......THIS is the place. We shall not hesitate in returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property.
Liked least: nothing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;