We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveller rating
389
292
115
56
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
389
292
115
56
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge horseshoe falls the river berwyn station steam train large balcony stunning location hanging baskets tow path bar area visited this hotel lovely walk llangollen railway buffet style evening meal no lift following morning
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 905 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely birthday lunch here after a walk along the canal path. Very wheelchair accessible and very doggie friendly. Sat at a lovely table inside the bar, lovely view of the river, and a welcoming breeze through the open glass doors. Excellent food and lovely staff. Definitely going again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Delighted that you found the food and staff to be so good, and of course that you enjoyed our stunning location.

We are very popular with dog walkers who come to enjoy the walks in this area.

Very pleased that you'll be reurning - we'll look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Stayed for one night bed and breakfast with a friend,we had a twin room with a balcony overlooking the river Dee. Both of us have slight walking disabilities so we were a little dismayed at having to climb two flights of stairs to get to our room,but we were told all twin rooms were on the second floor.The room itself was spotlessly clean but was almost unbearingly hot even when we were supplied with a fan by the manager.having said that,the beautiful view from our balcony,and the lovely hotel itself made up for that.After a decent nights sleep in very comfortable beds we enjoyed a good filling breakfast in the tastefully decorated dining room overlooking the river,we were told to look out for otters which apparently are frequently seen in the mornings,unfortunately not this time,although we did see a Heron waiting to catch a fish.The staff were all pleasant,friendly and helpful,and even with those stairs,I would definitely return .

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us - and that you would be keen to return again.

It was certainly a pleasure to welcome you both to the hotel.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night as a small family get together. The room was old fashioned but clean, and honestly the view of the river is fantastic. We ate in the bar as we had family arriving at a variety of times. Some of the food was extremely dry, others was great. I would recommend you stay but perhaps eat somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SamGru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel, but I am sorry that some of the food was not to your liking - of course I am glad that some of the dishes were great, at the same time. We are generally very consistent with our food, so please do try and give us another chance when you next return to the hotel.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

A professionally run hotel that feels like you've joined part of the family. The views are breath taking, the staff very friendly and accommodating, good variety menu I'm a picky vegetarian and had no problems at all. Drinks and food reasonably price and prompt pleasant service. Arrive put bags in the room sit down stairs with a nice drink by the river and relax. Thank you to Seamus the manager and Marion on reception your staff are a credit to you.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jillt256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. As a family-run hotel, and with a loyal staff, we do our best to make everybody feel at home here. I am pleased that so many aspects of your time with us were enjoyable - and we'll hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, staff so polite and would do anything for you, especially young lady serving breakfast don’t know her name but was in university in Liverpool. Food is really good, rooms are lovely, would definitely visit again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Many thanks for your great review - we are delighted that you were well looked after and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews