We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
390
292
115
56
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
390
292
115
56
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chain bridge horseshoe falls the river berwyn station steam train large balcony stunning location hanging baskets tow path bar area visited this hotel lovely walk llangollen railway buffet style evening meal no lift following morning
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

A professionally run hotel that feels like you've joined part of the family. The views are breath taking, the staff very friendly and accommodating, good variety menu I'm a picky vegetarian and had no problems at all. Drinks and food reasonably price and prompt pleasant service. Arrive put bags in the room sit down stairs with a nice drink by the river and relax. Thank you to Seamus the manager and Marion on reception your staff are a credit to you.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jillt256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. As a family-run hotel, and with a loyal staff, we do our best to make everybody feel at home here. I am pleased that so many aspects of your time with us were enjoyable - and we'll hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, staff so polite and would do anything for you, especially young lady serving breakfast don’t know her name but was in university in Liverpool. Food is really good, rooms are lovely, would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Many thanks for your great review - we are delighted that you were well looked after and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Sit on the flower filled decking and enjoy lunch to the bubbling sound of the river Dee splashing below. A perfect place to refuel after breath taking walks in the hills surrounding Llangollen. Great service and recently refurbished so now new and fresh as it was looking jaded previously. A hidden gem just a short walk away fom Llangollen town centre.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Y5263WObarbaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Many thanks for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and there are few places with such a stunning outlook on a sunny day!

Glad, too, that you received good service and that you're impressed by the work we have done to improve the hotel over the last few years.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We sat out on the deck by the chainbridge. The food was good and the service was friendly although we just called in for a meal. The floral displays were lovely and it was nice to look out onto the old station. The only criticism is that they would not allow us to open a tab as we were sat on the deck.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SallieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Many thanks for your review - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Unfortunately, on a few occassions, guests who have been sitting outside have inadvertently left without paying their bill (on the assumption it was already paid, of course) so to stop that confusion we no longer run tabs outside. However, in the age of contactless payment (and no minimum charges or fees!) this doesn't seem to have caused too much of an issue for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We found this place whilst enjoying a family weekend camping trip to Llangollen. We had been based at the Horseshoe Falls for the day, which are located just upriver. We'd been swimming in the river and exploring the shallow bits with our small children. We dropped into the hotel for a cold beer afterwards. It's a lovely place to stop and we returned the following day.
Only one criticism I have was being greeted by a surly bar tender (who unfortunately was also working when we returned on the second day). Such a shame to be met in such a lovely place by someone who has no customer service skills. Don't let that put you off though!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for your great review - I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your refreshments at the hotel while exploring this wonderful part of Wales!

I assure you, there would have been no intention of any surliness from any of our staff, who all love serving our guests as they enjoy this wonderful weather!

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews