We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
383
291
113
56
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
383
291
113
56
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgehorseshoe fallsthe riverberwyn stationsteam trainbalcony overlookingstunning locationtow pathhanging basketsbar arealovely hotelvisited this hotellamb shanklovely walkbuffet stylellangollen railwayevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We spent a week at the Chainbridge Hotel at the end of May up to and including the bank holiday weekend.
It is an amazing location - the Llangollen Canal is on one side with the River Dee on the other, over the chain bridge is a path to Berwyn Station on the Llangollen Heritage Railway.
We found the hotel staff very friendly, especially the bar and reception staff, and we felt very comfortable at the hotel. The public areas are well kept, especially all the wonderful hanging baskets and pots.
The views from the restaurant are wonderful so long as you have a window seat, so we were very disappointed that having eaten at the hotel for 6 nights we were still unable to reserve a window seat for our final night. Apparently it is strictly 'first come first served' on table allocation. Also we were disappointed that by 8:15/8:30pm the restaurant staff were more interested in laying up for breakfast than in taking orders for dessert.
The cooked breakfasts were very good on Tuesday to Saturday but over the bank holiday weekend (Sunday and Monday) it changed to a help yourself buffet which was not nearly so good - no smoked salmon or smoked haddock, and the food was not so hot. Cereals, fruit and fruit juice choices were very basic and seemed to run out.
Our room was comfortable but was in need of an updating. (I believe this is 'in progress'.). It did seem very odd to have no hanging space - this was fine for us as we were just going out walking but would not be good if you had smart clothes to hang up.
Parking at the hotel is interesting. There is canal side parking accessed along the canal path which seems very narrow but actually 2 cars can pass. There is overflow parking above the hotel with the pedestrian route to and fro via a metal footbridge with steep steps.
We enjoyed our stay but feel that there are a number of small details that need to be improved to earn an excellent rating. (for example being able to book a window seat, proper coffee in the rooms, a more relaxed dining experience.)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed so many aspects of your extended stay with us.

I am sorry for your disappointment in not being able to book a window seat - sadly it is everybody's desire to sit by the window, so if we were to allow bookings for the window tables it would often be the case that those seats would be booked at 8.00pm onwards, and as such would sit empty for the first two hours of service, which is rather heartbreaking for the other guests to see!

While we do offer a buffet breakfast when we have a large number of people in the hotel, we do still offer smoked haddock & salmon etc.

All aspects of the hotel are subject to continued changes and improvement - other than the car parking which unfortunatley the same small piece of rock it has been on for two hundred years has to suffice!

I am grateful for all of your comments, and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Hi, I would like to say a huge Thank You to Seamus and his team at the Chainbridge Hotel, whilst the eyes of the world were on the Royal Wedding theirs were firmly on our daughter and son in laws day, working tirelessly to provide them with a very special, perfect day.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were all friendly and welcoming throughout the entire day. The food was excellent, flavoursome and hot.
The atmosphere the staff created with their outlook-was relaxed, happy and professional.
As the immediate wedding party we stayed a couple of nights at the hotel.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of tea, coffee and toiletries provided.
Evening meals were excellent as was breakfast. Good choice of craft beers and wines in the bar.
Guests at the wedding had travelled from far and wide and were impressed by the whole experience. They will be spreading the word about this little unique corner of North Wales worldwide.
The views are just stunning from the sun rising over the bridge, to the sun going down behind the hills. The river and the railway station with its nostalgic steam engine passing on its journey up the valley is a wonderful sight.
Once againThank You all for giving our daughter and her husband the day of their dreams.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough as a wedding venue and a great place to stay.
Ideal for a base to tour North Wales or just to sit, relax and soak in its stunning location.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a balcony
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank anneandchris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you ever so much for your very generous and kind review.

You were all a delight to host, and of course we are always so happy to see happy people having a nice time together!

All of your comments are very welcome and appreciated by all the staff, who always give their best to ensure our guests have a great time with us.

We will very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

A very friendly welcome, lovely well appointed room and picturesque setting. Slight drawback was the lack of shower facility in the room. The food- dinner and breakfast,was very enjoyable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay, will recommend to others and will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Many thanks for your review - we are delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you would recommend the hotel, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The Chainbridge Hotel has the most beautiful views surrounding it. The hotel was clean food good. We only wish that they did food Allday. We will definitely be back to explore some more. The steam train runs the other side of the river what a fabulous sight and at the back of the hotel is the canal..

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Many thanks for your generous and kind review - we are thrilled that you were so happy with the hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We have stayed here many times before over a number of years, 4 couples. Sometimes we have come as 1, 2, 3 or 4 couples and I have been a few times with my late parents. Sufficient parking. The receptionist gave us a perfunctory greeting at check-in and told me we were the worse group they have when it came to sorting out our bills, not a good start!! I made the mistake of telling my friends dinner was 8 and it was actually 7.45 so we did arrive later than the staff expected, just on 8. Lovely menus available and we were told at the start of our menu perusal there were no lamb shanks. When choosing our food there was sadly no pasta dishes, as had none in the kitchen, no smoked salmon so the 4 of us who wanted the smoked salmon and prawn starter were disappointed, only one black pudding starter, again 2 wanted that dish, so it was that only two in the group had starters after all!! This did not bode well and it appears the disappointment of some of our group was deemed rude to the staff as we were told later that evening, other guests had complained about us to the receptionist who had booked us in. Mains arrived at 9.15, 6 of the group happy with their meals, one felt the flavours of the rice were bland and my mussels were swimming in a bowl of hot milk and pieces of leek, I did eat them as I was hungry and the bread was nice but would not recommend that dish. Cheese boards were excellent, but two of the group were unhappy with portions of dessert, one was much bigger than the other but we have since assumed that was because the small slice of dessert was from the fixed 3 course menu. Waitress could not help as one dessert had already had the fork put into it. Good choice of wines on offer at fair prices. Had a drink in the bar afterwards and again good choice available. All of us had double rooms overlooking the river with plenty of hot water and large white fluffy towels. We stayed in Room 19, a suite, more of an extra large bedroom. Deck outside was not accessible all the way across, and our outside furniture was in need of refurbishment or upgraded. One light not working above the bed, pretty table lamp but had no socket available so could not be used. In the bathroom the hot tap on sink swiveled about when turned. There was no remote control for TV but I did obtain another one from reception. Only 4 channels available but the hotel is at the far end of the valley so this is to be expected. Wi-fi also patchy, but location does affect that. I have since emailed reception with the maintenance issues, no reply. I was told by the receptionist that evening not to bring my party back to the Chainbridge as we were were not welcome as other guests had complained about us. We ourselves had already decided not to visit again as did not feel welcome. Breakfast was ok, sufficient choice of cold and hot dishes, plenty of toast, tea and coffee, but plates either lukewarm or cold for the hot food on offer. Only member of staff that acknowledged us was the young man serving hot drinks and toast, it was a very uncomfortable atmosphere. Upon check out, another receptionist on duty, there were no pleasantries with any of our group exchanged although there were with other guests, this made us all feel uncomfortable, again! Subsequently spoke to Seamus the manager and as he was not on site little he could actually comment on other than other guests had complained, but did say he would look into the menu issues.

Room Tip: Riverside views are best but keep doors/windows closed as river is noisy!!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank elizabethcY7559VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

I am always so saddened and upset when a guest who has been visiting for years, perhaps more than once a year, who enjoys the hotel but never leaves a review talking about what makes them return to us time and time again, then takes to Tripadvisor when one thing goes amiss.

I assume from the several stays you have enjoyed with us, more than once a year, for several years, that you previously enjoyed The Chainbridge - our food, views, staff, hospitality and location. I am sorry that this has now changed. Of course you are right to be disappointed that some elements of our menu had sold out - it was Bank Holiday Sunday and we had cooked 200 meals, so that can happen.

All of the staff here and always worked their hardest to welcome you and host you with our usual warm hospitality and good humour, despite it sometimes being challenging to do so, for numerous reasons. As on this visit, it wasn't just the staff who were offended by your behaviour, and we had to issue apologies to guests who were trying to enjoy their stay with us, in between complaining about you, I think there is little for me to say on this subject, further to what we said during our extensive conversation on Monday morning.

As always, we wish you all the very best for the future, and thank you for your custom of the years.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews