We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Set in a wonderful rural location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom
Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Swallows Cottage - fully equipped kitchen
Swallows Cottage - bedroom
Dog friendly
Dee Valley Cottage - child friendly
garden
River View near the cottages
Upside to a showery day
Swallows Cottage - dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
360falcon...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I was staying with my husband, 7 year old son and our cheeky cocker spaniel and we were made very welcome.
Found the cottage easily using google and the driveway in was steep but ok (we have been pretty freaked out by some frankly dangerous driveways in the past but not here). It is very close to the A5 so good for getting around and I was surprised that we couldn't hear the road noise at all.
The cottage was very warm and cosy and had been decorated tastefully for Christmas. The welcome hamper was the best we've ever had and we have rented lots of cottages! The fresh bread, bacon, sausages, eggs biscuits, milk and juice kept us well fed! They even added Christmas crackers which was a nice touch.
The beds were very comfy and we slept very well.
All in all we couldn't fault the place. When we left an item it was no trouble for Richard and Jenny to post it on for us without hesitation, this was really appreciated.
Well done on providing a fantastic holiday let!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, things to do in the area
Liked least: The weather but can't do much about that!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie G
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and value”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Booking this cottage was almost last minute and hassle free. The owners are very realistic, down to earth and I have to say have thought of everything that is required by the traveler. When we arrived at the cottage there was a lovely welcome basket waiting for us, it included ingredients for a good cooked breakfast, milk, bread, biscuits and even bowls and treats for Lucy our dog and Fresh free range eggs from their own hens, tea and coffee was topped up so we had everything we needed until we managed to shop for our stay.

The cottage Wagtails is very tastefully furnished with good quality furniture and lovely fabrics, the beds and lounge furniture is very comfortable just as you would buy for yourself. Plenty of kitchen equipment we cooked Christmas Day lunch no problem and managed our laundry during our stay as well. The cottage was warm and clean when we arrived.

The cottages are situated with fantastic views and in lovely walking country. Plenty of interesting towns to visit nearby. This stay has been very good value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We could bring the dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
La Tour-du-Pin, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cosy home”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I visited the north of Wales for the first time and it all started with a great welcome basket, a cosy and comfortable home. We loved the bedrooms, the view (wow!!), the living-room (so cosy) and the kitchen. And...it's quiet!! Everything we needed. Richard and Jenny (and the dogs too!!) have been sweet and helpful. I recommend the place 100%. Thank you again for making our stay so unforgettable. From Catherine and Tania

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everythin, absolutely, everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnValMa...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in a Beautifull Place”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were returning from a weeks holiday aboard a narrowboat and not ready to end our holiday. We had visited the nice town center of LLangollen and did not hold out much hope of finding accomodation as it was bank holiday Saturday.
Driving along the A5 a few minutes out of town we spotted the sign for Dee Valley Cottages a couple of hundred yards on the right, not holding out much hope due to the August bank holiday weekend and the fact we also had two old Labradours with us, we turned down the driveway thinking we might be wasting time but well if you dont ask you will never know.
Well were we glad we made that turn. The driveway led us down the hill to a beautifull place on the hillside with magnificent views across the Dee Valley, as we got out the car the steam train whistled as it chugged past at the bottom of the hill.
As luck would have it we were greeted by Kim who we later found out was house sitting with her partner John Paul as the owners Richard and Jenny were on holiday themselves. Well i can say reading the reviews on here Richard and Jennyseem to be great hosts, well i can assure them they left thier property in great hands. Kim and John Paul could not have been more welcoming and to our great satisfaction informed us that one of the cottages, Wagtails was free and it was agreed we would stay for 3 nights, just the extension to our holiday we needed.
We were shown around the cottage and could not believe the standard of not just the cottage but all the furnishings and contents. We tried to think of something which had been missed but we failed, everything we thought of, it seems Richard and Jenny had thought of already. The beds were so comfortable, everything was so clean and on top of all that there was an excellent welcome basket full of provisions.
There were some excellent walks right from the door including along the banks of the Dee which also ran along at the bottom of the hill.
The location was also ideal to explore further afield, less than an hour away we spent a sunny bank holiday afternoon on the beach at Barmouth.
There are also lots of choice for places to eat, we were impressed with the Grouse only 10 mins drive and reccomended by John Paul, although we would also be quite happy to stay in the cottage as everything you would need is supplied in the excellently equipped kitchen.
The free wifi was welcomed by my 10 year old son.
Thank you very much and we will certainly be returning in the future, next time for a longer break and look forward to meeting Richard and Jenny next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, and for your subsequent booking for next year. It was a pleasure talking with you. When we originally set the cottages up, it was our intention to supplement our pension and also maintain an interest in our retirement. Our values have always been to provide our guests with the best experience we can. We meet many guests in the course of the year and want to be able to do so with pride, we get so many positive verbal responses from our guests (many of whom we have got to know well over the years). However, seeing it in print helps confirm our success in achieving our aims.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful view!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Mum and I stayed here for one week in may, in swallows cottage.
It was very well equipped in the kitchen, and other areas.
Great location for travelling around to other places, to walk the dog.
Would definitely go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful view of the forest
Liked least: everything was great!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we try to provide and maintain the cottages as we would wish to find the places we use when we go away. It is a good place to bring your dog, as walking around here is usually rewarded by splendid views. You will be very welcome should you wish to come and explore further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing