We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
241
209
85
36
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
209
85
36
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal large car park wedding reception bar meals lovely hotel wedding party evening meal former glory lamb beautiful surroundings would stay again a bit tired booked this hotel pontcysyllte aqueduct new owners north wales bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The service at the hotel was very good indeed The staff couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is located next to the Llangollen canal, set in expansive grounds looking out over the valley. We walked for a couple of miles along the tow path of the canal, very rural and peaceful. The quality of the restaurant food and service was exceptional.

Room was very comfortable and warm with those same views over the valley.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view . I think most do but it would be shame to miss it
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leshalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We have wanted to stay here since seeing the hotel when we were on a walking holiday a few years ago but up till recently we never got the chance I have to say that the hotel did not disappoint. The chef is amazing, the food was delicious, we eat from both the restaurant and bar menus and it was all superb. We upgraded our room from a standard as it was a birthday treat, the bed was a comfortable four poster with all the required amenities include the room. As in previous reviews please don't expect state of the art bathrooms, ours had 1970's tiles with a shower over the bath but it was spotlessly clean and functional and in some respects the faded grandeur adds to the charm. We experienced genuine warmth and friendlyness from the staff in particular Connor, Lorraine and Terrie which made our birthday experience all the better. Many of the rooms int the old house are all individual and most with views so when booking if you have specific needs it would be better to say at the time, they do have an annexe with additional purpose built rooms. it was a shame that there were not more people staying as it is a lovely hotel, perhaps offers on Travelzoo would bring in more people to this lovely old building, its facilities and warm welcome. Thank you Bryn Howel for a perfect stay and see you later in the year.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 101jans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Bryn howel was an excellent base for our walking weekend. Good food, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Great for walkers as location is right on the llangollen canal and so you can easily access the aqueduct, Offas dike and the town of llangollen without taking the car.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wilsonhoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Went there for my 18 th wedding Anniversary staff are fab the food is great there was not a hair dryer in our room and a member off staff put her own in our room the staff are fab the bar staff are fab the shef is also fab the food is fantasit the breakfast sets you up for the day always go back there

Room Tip: room 28 is a view over the canel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank stevepierceno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The hotel is set next to the canal with lovely views, we walked to Llangollen from there which is approx 1hour away, we had a great stay, the hotel is under new ownership and is in the process of being renovated but don't let this put you off, our room was absolutely fine , very comfy bed with everything you would expect with ensuite , tv and tea coffee etc

The hotel has has some lovely original features, the bar area is nice and also the dining room too, the team were all very friendly from reception , front of house team and the housekeeping team

Breakfast was great with a nice hot traditional breakfast, we also ate in the bar area the previous evening (The burger was very nice !)

People are too keen to complain these days so I wanted to leave this review as we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to seeing the renovations in the future

Would recommend and stay again, thank you

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JP131911111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews