We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bryn Howel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
US$ 139
US$ 132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
US$ 140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
US$ 100
US$ 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
US$ 104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
231
201
84
35
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
201
84
35
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsllangollen canallounge barwedding receptionlarge car parkbar mealswedding partylovely hotelevening meallambbeautiful surroundingswould stay againa bit tirednorth walesnew ownersopen firebed and breakfastpontcysyllte aqueduct
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

hotel was excellent,clean,tidy and beautiful surroundings
the staff were polite and very helpful,
the only downfall for me was the evening meals were a bit too expensive and out of the average working man's price range ,although there was a very reasonable bar food menu
we will be staying here again,it was brill
(p.s if you want to go into llangollen for a drink and something to eat take out a loan)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaksterJct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked last minute getting a good deal. I was impressed with the location and the imposing building. The first member of staff I met was really welcoming and within 2 minutes we were in our room. The room was fine but a little dated. The shower was the most powerful I have ever experienced brilliant. We ate in the Bar the choice was good and the food was excellent. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HexhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We asked for the same room as previously but had to take another as it was already booked. We seemed to be in a honeymoon room by the style of the soft furnishings. It was bigger and better than the one we loved before. The food is always excellent here. We have returned and will do so again. We love walking and this hotel has plenty of walks on the doorstep whether you want Offa's Dyke Walk, the Berwyn Mountains, the Llangollen Panorama walk or flat lowland and canal towpath walking.
There are plenty of activities in the area. The rooms are excellent. The food is excellent. If you decide to pay a visit do not take up our space when we next visit. That is my greatest fear about this place. It is so good and provides value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a good break along with a number of friends at the Bryn Howel.It was situated by the canal which was accessable through the hotel grounds and was a good two and a half miles into town.The views were scenic and we enjoyed watching the boats.
The hotel was good value,food excellent along with the service.We could not fault our room as it was warm and comfortable.
We were on a higher floor and maybe the stairway and curtains here may benefit from an update...on the whole the stay was pleasurable,reasonable and good,would recommend.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the hotel before and the rooms are different as expected in an older hotels,the last time we had two windows giving us really good views front and back,we also had a jacussi which we loved,so worth asking about rooms on offer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamond4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

my husband and I have just return from a nights stay, with 4 friends. took advantage of the £10 pppn b & b, had a 3 course evening meal which was absolutely delicious, one of the best. The staff were efficient and more to the point very friendly making it an enjoyable stay. For breakfast was self service with a good range of things to eat, from cereals, fruit to a full English. The hotel location is in quite country side where it is possible to walk along the canal that takes you to Llangollen (for the more seasoned walkers)
We stayed in room 16 which was quiet and comfortable but in need of a facelift, especially the bathroom; although we did enjoy the spa bath, having said that have still recommended it to family and friends. I believe this hotel has new ownership so I hope they keep the good standards and the off peakdeals,as we would All love to return to this hotel. I would have given 5 stars but couldnt because of the tired decor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews