We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
176
41
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
41
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental style breakfast was delicious castle walls within the walls single room shared bathroom quiet street free parking spent two nights walled city warm welcome perfect location wonderful hosts full welsh breakfast comfortable bed one night stay little gem
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Very warm welcoming hosts, a glass of prosecco on arrival and chocolates in the room. Perfectly located within the castle walls and the room was warm and cosy. We had a delightful breakfast that set us up for a wet and windy hike in the surrounding mountains.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Echo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We needed somewhere within staggering distance of the Royal Welsh yacht club, for the N.Y.E party.
Cartref is within the castle walls, and couldn't be better situated. Parking the car was no problem nearby.
The house is clean, warm, and with a beautiful period charm.
Peter and Sharron are great hosts, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in!
The breakfast was lovely, the room was great, with TV kettle etc and a fan, for summer ( whichever week that is in Wales!)
What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Some rooms are end suite, some share a bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurJ493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Sharon and myself are very pleased you both enjoyed your night in Wales and you both are very welcome anytime. We also really appreciate your review and being such lovely guests. Hope to see you soon Arthur and Adriana.

Best Wishes
Peter and Sharon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We stayed at the Cartref last October for just the one night before the Snowdonia Marathon. We usually stay at one of the 3 travelodges around this area but due to the popularity of this event room prices have nearly doubled around the marathon dates.We did have a bit of a job finding the guest house as Caernarfon town is a big of maze of one way narrow streets and the sat nav failed miserably in taking us to the guest house.Having made several loops of the town we eventually parked up and decided to walk in and ask directions.Once we found the guest house we discovered that we had actually parked quite near so left the car in situ and walked to the accommodation.The hosts were very friendly and we were able to have a buffet breakfast early due to the marathon.Our room had a shared bathroom but this wasn't really a problem as there was only one person on the same floor.Our room was basically an attic room which had a velux skylight and it was quite restful seeing the stars above our heads.The room was however quite cramped for two people and as such was fine as somewhere to sleep but would have been too claustrophobic to have spent any time sitting in there.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank 100marathonsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Manager at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hello Both and appreciate your Visit and stay. We realise its a small double sharing a bathroom with 1 person, but at £60 for 2 people including breakfast for 1 night our feedback is "cosy and value"? Please as you realise the marathon is busy and if you would like to return sometime, please book an ensuite full double room for only £78.00 including full breakfast, Sharon and myself would love you to visit again. Caernarfon does get busy and already we are full for next years Run, so we send you our best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

This little guesthouse is a hidden treasure. Cosy welcoming and surrounded by harbour and seas. The surrounding environment is nature's beauty. Huge mountains to view and greenery for miles. The ideal getaway for tranquillity.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sunshineandsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Just a big thank you for your visit and the review.... Sharon and Myself really do hope you return in the future, may be in the Summer as it truly is wonderful...

Have a great Christmas,
Peter and Sharon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a night recently, and we had such a nice time! Room was great, and so was breakfast in the morning. Only a minutes walk from the centre as well which is ideal. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Just to thank you both and we hope you return soon....
Appreciate your kind review,
Kindest Regards
Peter and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews