We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Great position in the town.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    36
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
25
15
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

stayed in the hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights and we had as wonderful time. Room was really comfortable, plenty of character and clean (very important). Staff was really helpful, helped us find loads of info about bangor and travelling around the place.
The food was amazing. I am a vegan and its hard to find good food in restaurants, but this was different, they had a whole two page spread just for vegans. the choice was amazing. it really made my stay feel great!!!
Good hearty breakfast.

Thanks everyone in the garden hotel. Will miss you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights and all the staff were so nice and made sure I had a great stay. My room was very clean and very nice, and I had a beautiful view of the town out of my window. The location could not be better as the hotel is literally across the street from the railway station. I cannot remember a time when I got better sleep at a hotel then I did at the Garden. Also the food in the restaurant is great, I would strongly recommend it. If I am ever back in this part of Wales I would stay at the Garden Hotel again without a doubt in my mind.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is located above a Cantonese restaurant near the railway station.
The check in was quick and efficient. My room had two singles and was at the front of the hotel. It was clean and had the usual basic requirements. The bed was quite firm. For the price paid it was very good value. At rush hour the traffic outside can be noisy however the double glazing ensured it wasn’t too intrusive. There are a few parking places to the rear of the hotel.
Breakfast was good, served by friendly and courteous staff.
Overall the stay was pleasurable

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Husband and wife Andrew and Alice Lui makes everyone feel at home.
We thoroughly enjoy our stays here and return to see them every few months. (I find myself missing the family when i return back home!)
The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. We enjoy the wonderful, freshly cooked food every night. Not only delicious but filled with so much choice.
Being situated very close to the railway station which in particular is ideal stop off point for anyone catching a ferry in Holyhead to Ireland. We don't bring the car because petrol is so expensive now, we used to, but since changing our mode of transport, it has been less stress ful, far more less tiring and in overall, much cheaper.
We love our time here and would definitely reccommend it.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying in the large bright airy rooms in the front. We are all deep sleepers and love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuJuCombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
1.7 km away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.9 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.2 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.6 km away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Property: The Garden Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Bangor LL57 1DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bangor
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,818 - ₹ 8,075
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated on the High Street, close to Bangor Railway Station, with en-suite bedrooms and delicious freshly-prepared food and fine wines served every day in a warm welcoming atmosphere.Saint Deiniol's Cathedral, all University sites and Penrhyn Castle all within walking distance makes us an ideal place to stay. The Hotel's restaurant is open seven days a week with a comprehensive á la carte menu from 2.00pm to 9.30pm. To make a reservation, simply telephone or contact us by e-mail.The 3 star Garden Hotel offers both en-suite or standard rooms. All rooms are individually designed, with a rich mixture of traditional and classical style decor and equipped with modern amenities to suit all corporate and leisure guests.Room Amenities: Complimentary Wi-FiFax and copyingLaundry service Flatscreen TV and radio Complimentary tea and coffee Packed lunches available Complimentary toiletries Towels provided Trouser press (upon request) Iron and ironing board (upon request) Additional seating area (deluxe rooms) Free use of our comfortable guest lounge (first floor) For any special requests (champagne/fresh flowers/chocolates) to be placed in the room before your arrival, please telephone at least 24 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Bangor
The Garden Hotel Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing