We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Meal”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Excellent food as always staff always so happy ! Lobster risotto was heavenly! and then the sirloin steak was cooked exactly how I like it ! My parents insist on coming here every time they visit Aber!

Room Tip: Room with the bath with the sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjayet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Aberystwyth is one of my favourite places, having lived there for three years in the past, so it was lovely to return and this is always going to be our hotel of choice.

We had a beautiful sea view room and were lucky enough to stay on a sunny day so enjoyed watching the sunset sat in the two perfectly placed chairs!

This was our second stay and as per our previous visit the staff were welcoming, breakfast lovely and everything was spotlessly clean. We also loved the style of the bathroom.

The only negative comment to mention (but very minor) was the lack of sound-proofing of the room. This wasn't a problem we experienced before so we may just have been unlucky this time but we could quite clearly hear snoring from our neighbour next door!

Again, very minor, but as a suggestion it would also be nice to have hair conditioner included in the toiletries in the room - I expected there to be some. I realise not everyone uses this but perhaps to have some available on request at reception would be good.

We will, however, definitely be returning on our next visit to aber as we love it here!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BM81993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

If you're thinking go staying in Aberystwyth - this hotel is a gem! Our room was so comfortable, with a great view over the promenade. A lot of thought had clearly gone into the room layout and furnishings. The bathroom was excellent - nice bath, great shower. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a nice buzz. The tables were full with a nice mix of locals and hotel guests and the food was delicious. If ever we're back in Aberystwyth we'll be staying in the Gwesty Cymru.

Room Tip: Book the restaurant before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank r0bandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I visited Aberystwyth as a stopover location with family during the summer & decided to choose this hotel. It was a great choice!

I stayed in Room 2 (The red room) which was down a separate corridor on the ground floor, away from the noise of the restaurant and road. My room did not have a sea view but it was fairly spacious with a very nice waterfall shower. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but had ample applications to make your stay easy to manage.

We dined at the restaurant on the lower ground floor which, while small, did good food.
I chose the soup of the day, cheese and pear tartin and followed up with some strawberry icecream. All of the meals were nice however I would have liked to have seen perhaps one more option for vegetarians on the main course menu.

Overall it was a very nice boutique style hotel right on the seafront with reasonably good parking and great service. I plan on returning!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are up at least two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Staggz_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is a lovely little hotel serving a fantastic breakfast especially if you want something a little different than the traditional cooked breakfast . Recommend the scotch egg and the Welsh rarebit 2 lovely alternatives beatifully cooked .
Our room wasn't the largest I have ever stayed in but for 2 nights it was fine , and it was lovely to stay in a hotel which provided coat hangers that could be easily removed from the wardrobe and a hairdryer that wasn't fastened into a draw by a 2 foot lead , little things but they made the stay more enjoyable .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edskjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 km away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
373 reviews
1.8 km away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.3 km away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
0.3 km away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
469 reviews
0.3 km away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: ₹ 7,060 - ₹ 10,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing