We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views and the children enjoyed it”

Aberystwyth Cliff Railway
Ranked #8 of 25 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The ticket booking desk was very helpful and showed us how to book the most economic ticket for our family. The boys enjoyed the ride up and asked lots of questions which showed they were engaged in the experience. Best part was a wide vista of views over the bay and the City. It was a very breezy day and occasional short showers ... but that is Wales!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank R0ger777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bowling alley"
in 27 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 27 reviews
"camera obscura"
in 24 reviews
"clarach bay"
in 12 reviews
"frisbee golf"
in 12 reviews
"walk up"
in 34 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 47 reviews
"short journey"
in 14 reviews
"cable car"
in 9 reviews
"return ticket"
in 18 reviews
"walked down"
in 13 reviews
"steep climb"
in 10 reviews
"family ticket"
in 11 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 22 reviews
"sunny day"
in 26 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 33 reviews
"visit aberystwyth"
in 11 reviews
Filter

112 - 116 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

There’s not much more to say than the view is amazing! The cliff railway is a nice experience especially for young kids.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank markandcaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here when staying in area, cost was £10.00 per couple return, train was a great experience, nice little walk at the top cafe/bar to get refreshments, enjoyed the experience

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My Mother and I visited Aberystwyth last Friday and as it was such a beautiful day we were keen to see the views from the top of Constitution Hill. Much to our dismay, out of season, the train does not run, even on a Friday afternoon!! Unperturbed, we decided to walk up. We did make it, eventually ( my Mother is 86), but the paths were abysmal and highly dangerous. We did however, enjoy a delicious panini in the restaurant at the top and even managed to sit outside whilst taking in the spectacular views of Aberystwyth town and seafront. I truly hope that the paths are improved before the summer season so that when the trains are not in operation, people are able to enjoy such a beautiful place. My plea though is, that the trains operate on a Friday afternoon, as if you visit for the weekend, chances are you arrive on a Friday!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Experience623913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Whilst visiting Aberystwyth my wife and I took the opportunity to ride on the Cliff Railway. The front of the building, which lead to the ticket office, really looked like it represented the era when the railway was built. On entering the ticket office we were met by a pleasant member of staff who was more than willing to give us some information about the railway. After entering one of the carriages we took a steady climb to the top station. The carriages were very basic, which is fine as the journey is not too long. On arriving at the top we went to the cafe which had a good choice of food and friendly staff , although there was a really strong smell of fried cooking. The cafe also allowed pets inside. We then ventured back to the railway for the return journey. The top station looks impressive inside, like it could be on a Switzreland ski slope. The staff at the top station were also very friendly and talked for a number of minutes before the carriage left. Overall a pleasant journey.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank P6083XSanthonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aberystwyth Cliff Railway also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Aberystwyth Cliff Railway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing