We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 387 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elgars coffee shop and licensed restaurant sits in the historical part of Worcester City Centre in Reindeer Court. Elgars is housed in a traditional beamed 16th century building, the coffee shop blends traditional English decor with Mediterranean influences.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Lovely place for a relaxed lunch. Varied menu, decent prices and nice atmosphere. Service was impeccable.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

Stopped here for a cold drink mid-morning, and enjoyed the atmosphere - renovated old buildings and shops off the main modern streets. Came back for a late lunch and really enjoyed our food and drinks. Friendly staff and freshly made salads. You feel outdoors in the walk-way, but it is all under a glass roof.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Very attentive staff, clean uniform and smiled. Clean tables both inside and out. I chose the coffee cake and asked for a mild coffee as I understood they had a range of different blends. Cake was a little dry for me but with the coffee was palatable . I enjoyed the coffee. Sitting outside , the undercover walkway with soft background music ,made it feel like being on holiday. Customers around me had a variety of food ranging from salads to jacket potatoes. Their dishes looked attractive and of a decent portion.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We called in yesterday and had Victoria sponge which was awful(nothing Victoria about it)the young waitresses were lovely and hard working but the man in charge was always telling them off and following them,telling them he doesn’t want to see them together or standing around it was very uncomfortable to watch,and very unprofessional.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank 926loopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Worcester is always our "go to" place for a day out, so when we had a friend over from Ireland, it was the obvious place to show her around. We've been to Elgar's lots of times so knew it would be the perfect spot for brunch. I fancied the English breakfast, and my husband had a veggie variation (not on the menu, but the staff are always very helpful). Our friend had a Greek salad which was enormous - and healthy! Not sure the photo shows how wonderful it actually was!

Sitting "outside yet inside" on the covered street made her say that it was just like being on holiday! She was on holiday, and we were having a day out, but we knew what she meant! We've been coming here for years, first attracted to all of the flags which added to the setting. They unfortunately no longer fly (some Union flags and a couple of Turkish flags are still there, but we rather miss the "welcome of nations". Hopefully one day they'll all fly again and they're just being cleaned.

Table service is exceptionally appreciated when you've been having a wander around and don't want to queue at a counter for ages, then wobble around with hot drinks as most of the chains make you do. Here, the emphasis seems to be on the customer and you are looked after very well.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Elgars Coffee Shop & Licensed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing