We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my favourite place in Broadway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown and Trumpet Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still my favourite place in Broadway!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I visit Broadway a few times a year and still find myself being drawn to the Crown and Trumpet for lunch. My parents, their friends and my sisters all enjoy the fine fayre after my recommendation in April 2011. I still reckon for good, homecooked food, atmosphere and great service it is the best pub in Broadway. Yesterday we enjoyed a variety of meals between us, including haddock a ham ploughmans, a well known dish by Brains only homemade by the pub (but the word is considered profanity on here!) and a chilli. Around £50 including drinks (for 5 of us) which is still great value.
Give it a go - you won't be disappointed - we never have a poor experience at the Crown and Trumpet!

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight this time, but rooms are clean and quirky (well it is an old establishment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I thank your whole family for that accolade. We are all so pleased that when these rare family gatherings occur that we can help it become a memorable occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    139
    24
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
297
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

January is often a dull month so we decided to spend a few days in the Cotswolds staying at the Crown and Trumpet in Broadway, This was a good choice. Perfect time to visit as no crowds, no tourists just us and the locals.

The Crown and Trumpet is a proper local English pub, nothing pretentious but a clean bedroom comfortable bed with tea making facilities (with fresh milk offered!) and small ensuite. Excellent value and everyone very friendly and helpful. Breakfast freshly cooked and all you could wish for - not an all you can eat buffet so if you're looking for croissants or cereal bad luck but if you want a hot English breakfast with lots of toast you'll enjoy this. Good value evening meals also available, £14 for a steak with all the trimmings and £8 for fish and chips.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPBJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are all delighted that you both so enjoyed your stay and your very kind comments about the breakfasts and the homemade food dishes. That is just what we want to be, a Friendly Cozy Little Pub. Hope to welcome you both back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at the Crown and Trumpet on Friday and Saturday nights for a short notice weekend away.
Never stayed above a pub before so a novel experience. Lucky to find parking outside. Shown to room (5) by Steve who was cheery and welcoming. 'French' room with lovely old furniture. Room small but contained all needed including tea and coffe making and TV. Bathroom tiny but worked. Shower low pressure but I guess 17th century coaching inns were not designed to have power showers. Lovely fluffy towels. Spent the evening in the bar, a charming olde worlde pub with a mish mash of furniture but a steady stream of customers. Had a fab meal, rib eye steak for me and Worcester pie for hubby, both of which were very tasty - only thing that could have improved the meal would have been rustic chips. Great to have smoking area with heater out the back. On retiring to bed we found the bed - with old fashioned blankets - cosy and warm on one of the coldest night. Word of warning though the bed, floorboards and wardrobe are very authentic and creaky so a night of passion would be an interesting proposition!! Breakfast was an English breakfast with a jug of hot strong coffee. After spending the day out in Stratford, a short drive away, we spent the evening in the bar being entertained by a singer/guitarist who was popular with the bar customers.
All in all a lovely weekend.
Positives - Charming building and lovely staff. Boss, Andrew keen to greet personally.
Negatives - Two minor things. One, kitchen smells in the bar. Two, cobwebs in the bedroom (only a problem to me as I am terrified of spiders, husband not at all bothered).
Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilypill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you both for the extensive review about our tradition Cotswold Inn and your very kind comments. Well it looks like we have won you over to become one of our regular couples
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Second time at the Crown and Trumpet while visiting relations in Broadway. Andrew and staff were very friendly and welcoming, rooms were comfortable and warm and very clean. Very good breakfast and evening meals also very good. Ideal situation in the heart of the village.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you so much to you both for your kind comments. So glad that with the fire in the bar you were warm over the cold spell. Looking forward to welcoming you both for the third time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Having spent two very enjoyable days at the Crown and Trumpet, it would wrong not send a review about this very traditional Inn.

Andrew and his staff are a first class example of how to make each person feel special, without going over the top.

Each member of staff including the lady that was cleaning there made us feel welcome.

The cask beer was kept and served just right, the food tasted good and at last, hot food hot plate! You can tell Andrew knows his stuff.

The local regulars included us in their discussions which, covered a wide variety of subjects.

Having more than 30 years in the Licensed Trade across all sectors of the business, it is very easy to find things that are not quite right. With the Crown and Trumpet we did not even bother to look because we felt at home.

This outlet is a credit to the Industry.

Jack Parker

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
It was our pleasure to welcome you both and thank you so much for the trouble that you have gone to letting us know about your stay. This so lifts the moral for our team that makes them beam with pride. We so look forward to welcoming like minded people who want to enjoy us for what we are, to our Cotswold Inn. See you both shortly again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.2 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
0.1 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.0 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.9 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
2.6 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Trumpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Trumpet Inn

Property: Crown and Trumpet Inn
Address: 14 Church Street | Worcestershire, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,860 - ₹ 8,100
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just behind the village green of Broadway this traditional 17th-century inn, built in Cotswold stone, with four rooms for midweek and weekend breaks. Free wireless internet connection. Serving Lunch and Dinners all through the week using locally produced ingredients to make seasonally cooked homemade dishes actually cooked on the premises. Open Fire. Jazz and Blues nights. Just off the Cotswold Way, centrally located for touring Shakespeare's Country and the Cotswold and Malvern Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown And Trumpet Hotel Broadway
Crown And Trumpet Inn Broadway, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing