We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 130
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowley House(Broadway)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
US$ 342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 447/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
224
74
26
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
74
26
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barbar and grillnooks and crannieschewton glendeluxe roomoriginal buildinghotel is situatedspa facilitiesamazing hotelmain restaurantan overnight staycotswold villageorchard cottageafternoon teahigh streetlovely toucheggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We spent two nights in a room in the original building and thought that it was charming. The hotel has been revamped recently and we were impressed with the way the rooms flow into one another even though they are all different shapes, sizes and styles. Our only disappointment was that the boiler broke down on the first night of our stay so that it was not possible to have dinner in the Great Hall - although we were able to breakfast by the fire the following day (when unfortunately the water was cut off while further repairs were made to the boiler). The location is great and service is outstanding - when we requested the remains of our first night champagne at dinner on our second night, we were immediately presented with an unopened bottle!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Antal, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read the service you received was outstanding and rest assured this lovely feedback will be shared with the team. You will be delighted to know our engineer sourced and fixed our boiler challenge and all are running at 100% efficiency now. Thank you for being so understanding as we attended to this challenge.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018


Got a couples package deal, well worth the money, everything there was of the highest quality and service was great too. Food, spa facilities, and the room all 5 star for us. We loved every minute and were only sad to have to leave! Wil definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liamr748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear liamr748, thank you for your lovely words following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your time when with us and your kind comments will be shared with the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed for the New Year Gala Dinner. The hotel is great. Location in the Cotswolds is as good as it gets. Staff are exceptional, welcoming and efficient. Room was exceptional in character and comfort. The Gala Dinner was well organised and great fun. The only bad note is the wine pricing. Mark-up from retail (not wholesale) on two examples was 425% and 470%! We have got used to 200% and more, but this is taking the mick. Pity. otherwise this would have been a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have character and some have historical links
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lambda1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Lambda1924, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your New Year’s Eve experience. I was delighted to read you found our team efficient and welcoming and that you enjoyed your Gala dinner evening as a whole. I would be delighted to speak in person about our wine pricing should you wish to call me at the hotel on 01386 852255 as I am curious to understand which wines you are referring from our wine list.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights (New Year's Eve package).The hotel is located in the lovely Cotswold village of Broadway. Picturesque and historic, the hotel has all the old world charm combined with 21st century comfort and service.The staff were all exceptionally nice, helpful and definitely went the extra mile to make our stay special.We were warmly welcomed and ushered to our "cosy" room which was a little too small for two ageing adults (small double bed in a small room). Thankfully we were moved to a larger room with a king-size bed which was very comfortable.The food was very good throughout our stay. Lots of choice and good sized portions. Nice wine list and choice of cocktails too.Entertainment on New Year's eve was a live band, plus a piper at midnight. Great fun! The second night was rather quiet in comparison.
The spa / gym/ pool was all very nice. Lots to do locally.
My only slight concern was that the carpets in the bedrooms ( the two we saw plus our friends' room ) were not well vacuumed. I noticed the cleaning staff using rather under powered vacuums. The hotel also welcomes dogs so it would be wise to invest in more powerful machines to clear up pet hairs (not to mention human ones). Also our complimentary toiletries were not replenished on the second day. I know the staff were busy, but little details need to be attended to in a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid "cosy" rooms
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Rosie E, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your New Year’s break. Thank you for you lovely kind words about our New Year Eve House party and our team going the extra mile throughout your visit. I was delighted to read our team managed to facilitate a room move to a larger room for you and rest assured your feedback on your bedroom carpet is valued and shall be shared with our housekeeper and team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

There is no doubt that staying at this hotel is a lovely experience but you are paying for where the hotel is (perfect location in Broadway) rather than what the hotel is. The hotel room was lovely but I thought it missed the mark. The common areas of the hotel are querky and charming. A beautiful bathroom but the bedroom was trying to be old fashioned but had little charm and the 1970's style shabby wardrobe ruined the whole feel. Note that there is a new annex to the hotel so if you are looking for the "Cotswolds" feel then ask for a room in the old part of the hotel. The Bar and Grill is a stunning room, and the food good, but I thought the menu was a little weak. A lovely wine bar annexed to the hotel. This was a lovely stay but at US$1300 for one night for two rooms (three people), including dinner, I was hoping for a little more.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear alwaysmatthew, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I truly appreciate all your comments, and was delighted to read you enjoyed our charming and quirky lounges and snugs. Thank you for your feedback on your bedroom and furnishings, we do have a variety of room types in all areas across the estate, please do always ask for main house should that be your preference and our reservations team will do their very best to accommodate.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews