We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel for romantic getaway”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

LOVED this hotel, went as a couple for a romantic night (as we were attending DVLA auction which was being held there next day). Stayed in the penthouse suite which was gorgeous, well planned modern decor in a very charming room full of character - best of both... Staff were very attentive without being over-brearing. Food was fabulous and drinks pre and post dinner in from of the large open fireplace was really lovely. Breakfast was great and served to us in our room. Only thing to note about the penthouse is the steps up to is are steep and winding - so might not be suitable for everyone (but fine for us). Auction was very well organised (not sure if it was hotel's doing or DVLA) Would not hesitate to recommend (particularly the penthouse suite) and hope to come back very soon! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Penthouse was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,296 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have just spent another wonderful relaxing weekend at The Dormy House, this hotel improves every time we visit....food was absolutely fantastic as usual, we stayed on one of their special offer weekends and arrived Saturday and departed Monday morning. We ate breakfast in the main restaurant overlooking the lovely garden, it was well presented, choice was more than anyone could wish for and service first class.... Dinner was served in The Barn Owl Restaurant, a cosy room with a lovely ambiance, the service was first class and food delightful.. we took coffee and pre dinner drinks in the lounge sitting by the roaring log fire on the Saturday evening and opted to swop dinner on the Sunday for lunch as family joined us for lunch. We all had a lovely starter and opted for roast beef which was tender and delicious..desserts out of this world! Rooms at The Dormy are relaxing, warm and cosy whichever room you stay in, biscuits left on arrival, fluffy towels, comfy pillows and equally comfy beds! A lovely few days being looked after, indulged and relaxing.... lovely walks from the hotel and beautiful Cotswold villages to visit... cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms cosy and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balloonenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was an anniversary meal, the service was excellent and the ambiance very good, we would retrun without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinrpjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The Hotel, when you manage to find it, was an old Farm House that with various and many extentions through the years has been turned into a comfortable 46 Bedroom Hotel. It is surrounded on three sides by a Golf Course, a very good one if Golf is your thing, although nothing to do with the Hotel. The original part contains many meandering passages both upstairs and down, probably more quaint than a problem. We stayed in one of the outside Cottages No: 37 which for the price we paid was on the small side including the ensuite Bathroom although the Bed was large and comfortable. Our friends stayed inside the main Hotel in room 9 where everything was large enough and more pleasant, that is if you did not get lost in the upstairs corridors.(joke) The staff were never anything but friendly and efficient that helped make our stay so enjoyable we would not hesitate to return. The main Restaurant was an enjoyable place to eat and the food got a "better than good" award from us all. The informal Bistro type Restaurant was good but not exceptional. The Breakfast had plenty of variety and was cooked to order, the starters which you collected , were very well presented. The Lounge, Bar and general sitting areas were comfortable with a genuine log fire in one room. We stayed four nights over the New year where we thoroughly enjoyed the whole expieriance, this is not your average good Hotel ,this one for us has a certain charisma .

Room Tip: Best rooms are inside the Hotel, the outside Cottages are pleasant enough but a little short on spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The first problem is finding the place for, despite the postal address, it is over 4 miles from Broadway. If you arrive like I did in Broadway then try to find the Oxford Road (by going through the village), go up an enormous steep hill with vicious bends (yes this is an alleged "A" road!) and then try to pick up a sign to the left at a crossroad. It is then not too far. Good luck!
We took a package of bed and breakfast with evening meal (in the Brasserie) with a bottle of wine thrown in for £175. We were welcolmed efficiently, I think is the expression. Our room was small but quaintish and well furnished with a fairly small bathroom. The lighting was reasonable and the temperature was fine. Although there were instructions for using a safe I could not find one in the room but I regard a room safe as a prerequisite for a 4 or 5 star hotel these days.
There is a bar with several areas in which to sit and, in common with the rest of the hotel, it is quaintish and quite pleasant. Our meal was served in the Brasserie (we did not merit the main dining room). There was a reasonable choice but not extensive and, although I did enjoy it, it was not particularly memorable. The service, however, was very good and pleasant. Breakfast was in the Dining Room (I think) and was cooked to order - and, therefore, commendably hot. It was not lavish - I asked for bacon, sausage and egg and I got precisely that, one rasher of bacon, one sausage and an egg.
Unfortunately, I wasn't able to "prowl" like I normally do and the following comments may be unfair. The impression (and I may be totally wrong) is that there is a sort of class distinction in the hotel. On their website there are several different room categories and I think our package only gave us access to the cheapest category of rooms. Equally, we were allocated to the Brasserie not the main dining room.The place is a little too remote for me - if you want a drink there is no competition and you have to use the hotel. I think the drinks were expensive but I only think because our bill had no breakdown and I did not like to ask. We did enjoy our stay but it was not the outstanding experience we had been hoping for.

Room Tip: Pay more than we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
4.3 km away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
456 reviews
2.4 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
59 reviews
1.2 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
887 reviews
3.3 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
8.0 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: ₹ 21,820 - ₹ 30,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway
Dormy House Hotel Broadway, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing