We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Windsor meets....”

Fireythings and The Hope
Ranked #1 of 11 Nightlife in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Firestation Centre for Arts and Culture is a contemporary arts venue in the heart of Windsor, with an exciting programme of music, comedy, theatre, dance, film, and artworks.
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Young or Old the Firestation can offer you something of interest. Comed,y music, theatre. Even a food van. If you want a true Windsor experience visit the website and book tickets for whatever takes your fancy. It is always a fun and vibrant environment.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ianwindsor2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Owner at Fireythings and The Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thanks Ian! Great to hear your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fire station"
in 5 reviews
"st leonard's road"
in 2 reviews
"firestation"
in 12 reviews
"arts"
in 4 reviews
"gigs"
in 2 reviews
"comedy"
in 2 reviews
"scruffy"
in 2 reviews
"theatre"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Keep walking down the Main Street and you'll eventually come to the fire station. A very laid back bar. Scruffy sofas, good beer and very good wine. They also have very good comedy on from time to time so worth keeping an eye on the place. A real local bar with a difference.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Owner at Fireythings and The Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thanks Peter!
Glad you like the wines... new Vinho Verde in stock this weekend is well worth trying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

I like this place because it's a bit querky and unusual! The drinks are tasty and the atmosphere is nice. Good place to take a friend from a drink :)

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank 384jadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The Firestation is loud and rather tired inside with seating outside to the front when the weather allows. Drinks are expensive and it can be hard to get a seat so not a pleasant experience on the evening I was there.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Dermott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Have just left with my two children and a friend with his son. Ordered three beers and three hot chocolates for the children. The three staff working were lazy and rude/ add this to the man that was staring at my children or us this is an awful place to go to. Sort out your staff Peter/Manager. Not a place to drink and the staff are so arrogant they complain about making hot chocolates for 3 under 10 year olds. Bad form people. Stop the arrogance and start serving people.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank irishfoodie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Owner at Fireythings and The Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Joe,

As one of our regular customers, and someone I have spoken with and apologised too about this issue, it’s disappointing to see you subsequently posting such an unfair review.

As I pointed out in my email to you, your hot chocolates were served on the counter just as the staff were handing over from one shift to another. Whilst we don’t in fact offer table service, any of our staff would have happily brought them to you, but unfortunately they were unaware you were still waiting, and the drinks remained on the counter for a few minutes. We always offer to remake any drinks if customers are unhappy, but as you didn’t let staff know that your hot chocolates were cold, they were unable to help you.

The staff member you describe as “rude” was making a joke with you, which clearly back-fired. She is aware of this and we have spoken subsequently about better customer care and a more appropriate conversational style. I have already passed her sincere apology on to you.

Lastly, as a busy venue with events and activities for children and young people taking place daily, we take our safeguarding responsibilities very seriously. Our staff are trained with our safeguarding guidelines and have numerous procedures and policies to support them, if anyone is uncomfortable with a situation or an individual's behaviour.

Your reference to “the man who was staring at my children” is therefore of primary importance to us. I’m surprised that you didn’t mention it at the time, or in your subsequent emails, and as a result we have been unable to look into it. If you would like to forward more details to me (in confidence via email please), we will certainly use our CCTV and staff reports to investigate this further.

I do hope we will see you here again soon,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fireythings and The Hope also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Fireythings and The Hope? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing