We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay much, don't get much!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windsor Trooper
Ranked #20 of 24 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is a value hotel so you shouldn't expect to get much. The lay out of the ensuite was a bit odd but the room seemed clean and was fine for a one night stop over. Sleep was assisted by a number of beers, so no idea about street noise.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

i have just come back from a short break and stayed at this place, well where do i start ? first we was taken through a small door and there was mess all on the floor and it looked like it had not seen a hoover in weeks, the toilet in the room i can only describe as a cat flap style door that didnt fully slide open, the tv had an ariel connected like you buy from argos to boost signal but we could still not watch the tv as the picture was terrible, the shower was in a small dark wardrobe type thing, with a shower curtain between the shower and the sleeping space, when i went to enquire about a change of rom and the state of ours i was told by the manager we are full and the room is what it is.. disgraceful.
so we decided to grin and bear it for the night and street noise from people outside in the early hours meant my partner didnt sleep at all ,we then came to breakfast, no milk, 1 sausage 1 rasher of bacon and every pot on the table was pepper no salt at all and yes thats every single table 2x pepper pots all for the bargain price of £75 a night

DO NOT STAY HERE...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vernieRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

central location friendly and helpful staff great food good for families and couples a like on site parking too good access for legoland we will return again

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyshireThreeputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This place is truly bad. Avoid at all costs - try a park bench instead!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Well, let me start by saying I'm not usually very fussy I'm used to basic accommodation and I’ve stayed in low (to no) stared hotels across the world and this was one of the worst.

To check in we had to go into the pub - it was fine they were efficient and gave us a key - we were told “the cereal is in your room" - ok we've got cereal for breakfast... not really breakfast?

The room was too hot to sleep in we complained about the heat and they turned off the boiler – we tried to open the window but it didn’t stay open. By half way through the night the room was freezing cold (only a sheet and one of those covers in the room to keep us warm) so no temperature control.

The look of the room was poor it was old fashioned and has certainly not had any work done to it in the last 15 years. The back of the chair fell off every time you touched it; the cups were stolen from Costa Coffee! There was mould on one of the walls. In general it was very worn.

The place says its "en-suite" well its not really it’s got a toilet (with no light) in what I would call a built in wardrobe with a loo installed. The Shower was not in the same place however is in another "built in wardrobe" which apart from the shower curtain goes straight from the shower into the room. Just quite odd to be honest.

The double bed was two singles pushed together with mattresses too large for the beds (so hanging over the edge) the bedding consisted on sheets (which were clean in their defence) and a very dirty cover thing (you know the colourful ones you only get in hotels).

In the morning we tried to have the breakfast – but although we did have cereal (one variety pack of Rice Crispies and one of Cornflakes) there was no: milk, bowls or spoons. So pretty impossible to eat! We tried to check out however there when we tried to find anyone in the morning there was no one to speak to ... we just locked our keys in the building.

It was basically a bad place to stay – and very expensive for what it was.
Don’t go there – spend an extra £20 and get something nice!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ECL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.5 km away
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
#11 of 19 in Windsor
487 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
The Prince Albert
The Prince Albert
#12 of 24 in Windsor
78 reviews
2.7 km away
The Union Inn
The Union Inn
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Trooper? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Trooper

Address: 97 St Leonards Road, Barkshire, Windsor SL4 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: ₹ 5,959 - ₹ 15,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Trooper 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Windsor Trooper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Trooper Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing