We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

West Yorkshire Playhouse
Ranked #13 of 162 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

First visit to this theatre: to see the play ‘Birdsong’. Excellent production with good actors.
The theatre is well served with plentiful ancillary areas- spacious, light, and varied.
Seats have good leg room, and there are helpful seat number diagrams, and the layout of the aisles allows easy access to them.
The overall effect is most pleasing.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 1949etwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"courtyard theatre"
in 11 reviews
"excellent theatre"
in 8 reviews
"quarry hill"
in 6 reviews
"great production"
in 8 reviews
"excellent play"
in 5 reviews
"main theatre"
in 5 reviews
"peppa pig"
in 4 reviews
"christmas carol"
in 4 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 4 reviews
"great view of the stage"
in 7 reviews
"cheap seats"
in 4 reviews
"front row"
in 6 reviews
"box office"
in 5 reviews
"plenty of leg room"
in 4 reviews
"last night"
in 9 reviews
"car park"
in 10 reviews
"wyp"
in 33 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Saw 'Still Alice' in the Courtyard theatre, seating very good and all seats have good view. Show was absolutely fantastic and would recommend particularly if caring or have cared for someone with dementia-very emotional.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank dodo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

My Mum and I went to the matinee of The Lion, the witch and the wardrobe on Thursday. We had lunch in the cafe there which was a much better experience than our previous visit. We didn't have to wait long to be served and the food was of a high standard. The only negative was that some of the chairs and tables were very worn and tired.
The show itself was amazing from the acting, costumes to the scenery and special effects. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I took my grandsons to see this fabulous performance yesterday afternoon. What a show! The set, the props, the acting, the delivery, the skill of the performers and the energy all made for storytelling at its best. My oh-so-cool 14 year old grandson thought it was genius, while my 7 year old was just in awe of the magic.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank SuG191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We took our 3 children to see The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. The theatre is in the round which gives you such a great feeling of being part of an audience. As we made our way to our seats we passed through what felt like backstage areas which again really added to the experience of the hard work that goes into putting on live theatre. The show itself was incredible, the lighting, the set and sound was flawless in our opinion. The ushers and box office staff were super helpful and friendly. Really great experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank EmmaT378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Yorkshire Playhouse also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to West Yorkshire Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing