We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe”

West Yorkshire Playhouse
Ranked #13 of 160 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I took my grandsons to see this fabulous performance yesterday afternoon. What a show! The set, the props, the acting, the delivery, the skill of the performers and the energy all made for storytelling at its best. My oh-so-cool 14 year old grandson thought it was genius, while my 7 year old was just in awe of the magic.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank SuG191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"courtyard theatre"
in 11 reviews
"excellent theatre"
in 8 reviews
"great production"
in 8 reviews
"quarry hill"
in 6 reviews
"excellent play"
in 5 reviews
"peppa pig"
in 4 reviews
"main theatre"
in 4 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 4 reviews
"cheap seats"
in 4 reviews
"great view of the stage"
in 6 reviews
"front row"
in 6 reviews
"box office"
in 5 reviews
"last night"
in 9 reviews
"car park"
in 10 reviews
"wyp"
in 33 reviews
"performance"
in 65 reviews
"cast"
in 32 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

We took our 3 children to see The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. The theatre is in the round which gives you such a great feeling of being part of an audience. As we made our way to our seats we passed through what felt like backstage areas which again really added to the experience of the hard work that goes into putting on live theatre. The show itself was incredible, the lighting, the set and sound was flawless in our opinion. The ushers and box office staff were super helpful and friendly. Really great experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank EmmaT378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent show.

The performers were all wonderful! (Only one dodgey accent) but the rest were great.

Lots of energy. Timing was always perfect!!!

Took a while for us to get used to there not being any set/backdrop with it being a circular stage.. . But they changed the scenes in a very imaginative / clever way. So we loved it in the end

Well done to everyone

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank DwayneAndAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We went to see The lion the witch and the wardrobe with a mixed group of 18 aged from 4 up to pensioners and it was enjoyed by all! The production was great. There are however a couple of things about the three WYP that could be improved. There is only one set of toilets and they are right down at the bottom and there was only one person serving at the snack bar at the interval and the queues were ridiculous. They need to have more staff when the theatre is that busy.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank BigTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Having been a fan of WYP since the old days in the uni building I'm still a fan but it's good the upgrade is on the way. Things are a bit tired and the seating is cramped and uncomfortable. The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe was a little disappointing this Christmas. There were some good effects but it suffered from being too pared down and relied on the audience being familiar with the story. Oh and the accents......disastrous!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank gill61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Yorkshire Playhouse also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to West Yorkshire Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing