We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Bingley Arms

Bingley Arms
Ranked #167 of 2,283 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great afternoon,food was so good,booked to do it again,chef catered for me as i have an allergy,so every thing was made to order for me,and on a lovely three tire cake stand,what a lovely treat thank you so much x

1  Thank Connector519409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyArms953, General Manager at Bingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable evening here as a family party of six. The landlady was very welcoming and told us of the history of the pub and showed us around, including a look at the priest holes which was very interesting. It is traditional pub food. All our meals were spot on and very hearty portions. Service was fabulous. We will definitely return.

1  Thank Yorkshirelass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyArms953, General Manager at Bingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your great comments, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Frankly, I was more disappointed for my partner she had booked this and been looking forward to it for weeks, we arrived, and I felt like we were the poor relations or something, we were shortly ushered into a quite small room, no heating other than free standing gas and electric heater, which was on low, so we were quite cold, I had mint tea and she had machine coffee, which was actually okay I'm told, the food arrived, and the sandwiched though miniscule were quite nice, but the rest, cakes and scones were not very good at all, tasting like they were stale and very dry.

Another point, we paid £11.50 via Groupon, who said it was £19 normally, but when we got there the price was actually only £16.

I'm sure the rest of the pub was okay, but we didn't get to see any of it despite it being mostly empty, so why shove us into this small room.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyArms953, Manager at Bingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment.
We have sold over 2250 afternoon tea vouchers since we began working with Groupon and currently have a rating of 4.5/5. So they are something we pride ourselves on and like to think are served to a very high standard. So to hear your comment does disturb me a little and I will be carrying out a thorough investigation as to why the standards seem to have slipped for you on your visit.
All our cakes, scones and sandwiches are made fresh to order on the day so I can only apologise that for whatever reason your experience was not a happy one.
We make use of both our Cavalier Room (the one you were in) & our Art Room to serve all our afternoon teas and reserve the rest of the pub for other dining. Our Cavalier Room is often the room of choice for diners when asked there preference of where to sit as a lot like the quirkiness of the Room and prefer to be away from the main bar. Obviously this was not the case for you but we would have gladly switched you tables had you requested to.
Regarding the heating I can only apologise again as you did happen to come on the day that our boiler had broken down and was in the process of been fixed. We were aware of the temperature in the pub hence the addition of electrical heaters that we put in place to try make your visit as comfortable as possible.
Our standard Afternoon Tea is priced at £9.95 per head but we are currently running an ‘in-house’ promotion of ‘Two for £16’ to run alongside the successful Groupon campaign.
Once again many thanks for your comments, they will all be taken on board and I am sure that if you were to give us another chance again in the future, you will walk away much more satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with a group of friends here. Extensive menu. Food piping hot, fish pie amazing, chips to die for!!! Staff friendly, very reasonably priced. Looking forward to going again very soon.

Thank RochN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyArms953, Manager at Bingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Many Thanks For your lovely comments, it’s a pleasure to serve such lovely people. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Kay and staff for a fab meal last weekend
Steak pie and game pie, scampi and fish pie and all measured up
We’ll be back !!

Thank kitten001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyArms953, Manager at Bingley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Many thanks for your nice comments. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bingley Arms also viewed

 
Scarcroft, Leeds
 

Been to Bingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing