We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband. We found this to be a lovely hotel, nicely furnished, in a good location and with friendly efficient staff. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening but we did visit the bar which had a nice (not too noisy) atmosphere. The breakfast was very enjoyable and it is the first hotel that we have visited where the chefs managed to cook my husband's bacon to his somewhat fussy satisfaction (crispy)! We would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely re-book if re-visiting Leeds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzy-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    482
    153
    57
    36
See reviews for
84
592
41
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having experienced the decadence that is Malmaison a couple of times before, our experience in Leeds was as good as expected.

ROOM: The room, a superior twin, was large and comfortable; we were glad to have upgraded from the standard size as you get a bit more space and chairs/coffee table.

SERVICE: Always excellent at Malmaison.

FOOD: Breakfast was a real treat, with so much choice from the continental spread and then a choice of cooked breakfast. The only negative of our entire stay was that the poached eggs one morning were solid all the way through, which I wouldn't even bother mentioning if we hadn't heard a woman complaining about the very same thing the morning before - so once the egg chef fixes that it will be absolutely perfect! We also had dinner on one evening and did the Three Tenners menu - 2 courses each and a bottle of house wine for £30 - which was great value and excellent quality. The house wine, a Spanish Tempranillo, was surprisingly good and drinkable, and the cost of the meal was far less than if we had gone a la carte.

LOCATION: Very close to the High Street, but far enough away that there is no noise at night. A five minute walk to the station as well.

OVERALL: In summary, another excellent, relaxing and luxurious Mal experience. Not exactly cheap, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Upgrading to superior is definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reindeerman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My night at the Malmaison Hotel in Leeds was fantastic. The hotel is very close to the main shopping areas, and transport.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I arrived a little early for check in but it was easy to store bags..in fact, my bags were in my room once I got back to the hotel later in the day.
The decor is very funky, rooms are small but as a solo traveller more than enough for me.
The free and generous size toiletries pack was a real bonus..I think they would have been sad if I had not taken my pack!
I stayed here on a Saturday night and had no issues with noise levels from other entertainment areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed here only for 1 night and have to say that out of all the places I have stayed in the world Its one of my favourites. The room was quite expensive and the bathroom quite small however it was very clean and the location is fantastic both for travel off the freeway and train station and also for getting about by foot. The decor is really quirky and modern and I think this adds to its unique factor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights over Easter and at £158 for both nights, I felt that was really good value. The room was quite small but very well designed with a lovely bathroom with a bath as requested, and fab free toiletries! We were a little disappointed that breakfast wasn't included but it was only a small thing. The location is great - very handy for the station and a very short walk to a good selection of bars and restaurants. That said, Leeds is quite a small town, so most places are easily accessible on foot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 85 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#7 of 85 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 85 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,923 - ₹ 14,584
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing