We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, lovely staff”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice stay, lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night on 31/03/12 for a civil ceremony which was very well organised. Had read previous comments about the subdued lighting and it was true of the restaurant and corridors but I quite liked the effect. Young staff, but all lovely and had a professional attitude. Wherever you encountered a member of staff they would speak with you rather than just walk past. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was clean and bright apart from a few carpet stains near the dressing table (? coffee) - nice toiletries in the lovely bathroom. Room well equipped - TV, DVD player, kettle, mini-bar, iron and ironing board etc. Room had been serviced but the tea and coffee box had not been topped up. However, there was a chambermaid on the corridor who quickly provided what we needed. Nice filter coffee, but awkward packaging - took a while to get a cup of coffee! Hotel very convenient - only a short walk from the station and not too far to the restaurant we were going to on Brewery Wharf. However, the beds were too high for the average person and the mattresses too hard for a comfortable sleep - can't suit everybody all the time though. The duvets were very good - light but warm. Thick floor to ceiling curtains which did a good job of keeping out the light. The side of the hotel we were suffered extreme noise from car horns and people shouting in the street outside. Very noisy until around 5am, so did not make for a good night's sleep - not the hotel's fault, although better glazing might help. Would ask for a room on the other side if we stayed again. Lovely breakfast next morning with excellent choices and good coffee. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Not sure if the back of the hotel is any quieter, but the rooms on the main road side are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabaxse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    518
    163
    61
    41
See reviews for
99
634
46
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for one night at the malmaison as we were going to the Grand theatre which was about a 10/15 min walk. my personal opinion of the malmaison is that I thought it was in a good location for all shops etc. We had a Warm friendly welcome at reception. The hotel is clean and modern with subdued lighting throughout, there is a Lift to all floors. The Bedroom we had was a standard double, we found it was nice and spacious, spotlessly clean with a flat screen t.v with sky sports news channel. we had a Well stocked hospitality tray. Also provided was an iron/board and hairdryer. There was a Mini bar and the option of purchasing wine and snacks in the room. I would rate10/10 for a good nights sleep, lovely comfy bed with fresh white bedding. The bathroom was lovely clean and modern with a heated towel rail and fresh white fluffy bath sheets, good size complimentary toiletries and a powerful modern shower. The bar on the ground floor was cosy and seemed quite busy however my husband said the bar prices were a bit expensive. (3.95 for a pint of smooth). we had breakfast in the hotel which was lovely...good breakfast menu choice, freshly squeezed orange and an impressive continental breakfast with croissants and honeycombed honey. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend even to the fussyest of people. It is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is very well situated and the service is what you would expect from a swanky trendy hotel in a city centre. Rooms are nice and spacious but the bed was so hard and wobbly that I did not have a comfortable night's sleep. The real disappointment however was the food. I ordered room service and the food and presentation was somewhat lack lustre. The next day I had lunch and this too was a disappointment. The breakfast choices, however, were very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJABATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I booked a room here for the night before my wedding to get ready in with my girls. It's a lovely hotel, the room was very quiet and well decorated. The only downside was the bed was a little too hard for my liking but it's not like I would've gotten much sleep anyway, was far too excited! Didn't have chance to eat at the hotel but enjoyed the complimentary champagne and the card the hotel sent up in the morning. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saphyrestardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Enthusiastic staff.
Great location.
Great food.
Good prices.

All good :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoseSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,211 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
146 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,442 - ₹ 14,560
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing