We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Running hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Running hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a Friday night at the end of February with my wife on a groupon deal bought for us by our son. First impression was poor, there seemed to be a musty smell about the place reminiscent of old city centre hotels prior to the smoking ban. Needs a facelift. Had already upgraded to a King Room for £20. Room was small cramped and during the night became uncomfortably warm. Turned the bedroom radiator off, turned bathroom radiator to off but heat continued to blast out. The water from the cold water taps in the bathroom, bath and sink, was hot and that from the hot taps boilling. The morning breakfast was the usual self service type with choice of various cereals yoghurts and fruit, with the 'full english' foodstuffs, bacon, scrambled eggs etc, displayed in large thick plastic cartons placed under heated lamps. Parking was in the nearby secure Q Park, £5 overnight charge if you departed before 9am, £12 if later. Only positive comment I can make is that the hotel is well situated for visiting the city center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    476
    232
    119
    51
See reviews for
100
414
124
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here on 2 night deal - great value DBB and got a large executive room with sitting area and flat screen TV. No problem with noise, other than some whirring from the air- con units across the courtyard. Dining room staff friendly and large portions of food. First class breakfast too . Bar and dining area all very smart and entire hotel very clean.We extended our stay by an extra night for just £79 B&B for 2.Only problem was a shortage of hot water between 0730-0830

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Well situated, friendly staff and a clean hotel. No parking other than multi storey round the corner which makes it expensive, constant "whirring" noise through the night and too much noise in the early hours from adjoining rooms.
The TV in the room was very old and had a bad reception.
Nice bar area and a reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richb823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel itself is well presented however the room I stayed in was very dated. It was clean but the furniture was very worn and the room needed to be re-decorated. The bathroom was very dated, having to put a shower mat down in the bath and have a shower curtain seemed quite unhygienic. When in the shower the shower curtain continued to blow in to the shower meaning that I had very little room to wash in. Not major things but when a hotel bills itself the way that the Cosmopolitan does, I expected much better. The receptionist who served me was also very abrupt and gave me about 30 seconds of her time, disappointing and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maninblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My friend and i purchased an overnight stay on Groupon, bargain rate so we thought we would shop and have a few drinks in Leeds city centre.

The staff are very helpfull especially the girls on reception, we couldnt really fault our stay rooms fine for one night, if anything the only complaint was the room was just too hot! The room window was tiny although we did manage to open it it didnt help much and it was a below - night! The girls on reception did offer a fan for use in the room but it seemed a lot of trouble for an overnight stay.

Breakfast fine, help yourself buffet and plenty of it, lots of vintage fashion magazines to read and a nice bar. For the people who have made a comment regarding the location of the hotel i.e in the Gay area well whats the problem? a few bars no problems well not in February anyway!

I would recommend the hotel for a shopping trip, overnight stay and we had afternoon tea there it was very nice indeed. Finally if you want to be near the Greek Street area with various bars etc it is a short walk away and the location of this hotel maybe more noisy in the summer months.

All in all if theres a deal on Groupon again we will be buying it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel
Address: 2 Briggate, Leeds LS1 4AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,550 - ₹ 13,900
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 5 minutes from Leeds City station and 1 mile from the main motorway links into Leeds. With a prime City Centre location we are ideal for both business and leisure guests. All bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and include power showers, dressing gowns, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing centre, hairdryer, LCD flat screen television luxury bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing