We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds
Ranked #32 of 2,292 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 25
Description: Brought to you by two chaps who grew up together, this place is all about being different. From the beach huts to the gin bar, it is all part of the journey to bring good & proper British dishes with a unique twist to the heart of Leeds.
Restaurant details
Description: Brought to you by two chaps who grew up together, this place is all about being different. From the beach huts to the gin bar, it is all part of the journey to bring good & proper British dishes with a unique twist to the heart of Leeds.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Popped in Easter Monday with my wife for a quick Lunch. As this was our first dining we were not sure what to expect but straight away we were greeted with a big smile from the doorhost Lucy and she managed to get us a perfect booth in the restaurant. Then Ariana our waitress came over and took the drinks order i had a coke zero which came in a glass bottle not draught like most places. My wife had a tea which was served in a retro pot. The decor of the restaurant is very pleasant and the atmosphere was good. My wife ordered cod and I had the pulled pork bun with fries and ordered a side of onion rings as well. Was expecting a a small portion of pulled pork but instead i got a massive bun loaded with lots and lots of pulled pork my favourite of all meats and the sweet curry sauce was amazing. The onion rings were huge and crispy couldn't finish it all. We had enough fries as a side to share for both of us. My wife's fish was also very tasty and big portion. We were both full so had to skip desserts this time but will be definitely back and will try them next time.
The bill came to 32pounds which i think considering the portion size and the quality of the food is one of the best value for money in Leeds
Thank you Lucy and Ariana and the whole team for a great Easter Lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trinno100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesGroup, Guest Relations Manager at George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's great to hear you had such an enjoyable visit. I'll ensure your comments are passed on to the team - and give special thanks to Lucy and Arian!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We have eaten here probably 3 or 4 times since it opened and always enjoyed it.

As we had family up from London thought they might like to try it.

We decided to try some of the cocktails.I thought they were overpriced and I couldn't taste the alcohol even though supposed to have double measure of spirit in.The bar service was extremely slow,could have done with more bar staff.

We all had starter and main course.Food was fine although I didn't enjoy as much as previous visits.

On the whole we would go back again.

Thank lbalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesGroup, Guest Relations Manager at George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to us, it’s great to hear you’ve become a regular guest!

Sorry to hear your recent visit wasn’t up to the standard you’d experienced previously. We always like to put right where we’ve gone wrong, please can you send over your contact details to leedsgbk@georges.co.uk so we can contact you personally.

Many Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Excellent food at reasonable prices,will return. Only downside is lighting could be brighter as I struggled to read menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amj13963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesGroup, Guest Relations Manager at George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi There,

Thank you for your review and we’re super happy to hear you enjoyed our food!

Sorry to hear you struggled to read the menu due to our lighting, we adjust this according to the time of day to create the right ambiance but we can always assist with extra lighting if required.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Wishes,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We visited at lunchtime in half term. The varied menu was full of appealing sounding dishes, we chose the Dirty Burger from the lunch menu and the Fish Burger from the full menu, together with 2 meals from the kids menu. All 4 were delicious, with quality ingredients and fresh, interesting flavours. The IPA and the lager were also both good, and the kids dessert (ice cream, freshly made churros, chocolate sauce and a candy floss) was really impressive for all involved! The atmosphere was busy but service was attentive, and the beach hut booths were fun for the kids whilst still being enjoyable for the adults! We will definitely be returning - and recommending.

Thank Vardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal on Easter Sunday.
Really good selection of food and the 4 of us were spoilt for choice.
We loved the Scottish Haddock and the Smoked Cod in Paprika Batter is definitely worth trying as are the Stilton Chips but make sure you are hungry.
Great service, staff were all lovely.

Thank 123FC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds also viewed

 

Been to George's Great British Kitchen-Leeds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing